The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 29, 2003, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Speaking ASA - obstruction. ASA 8-5-B and ASA 8-7-J.

Take the interference rule first. For the BR to be guilty of interference, she must have interfered with a fielder attempting to field a fair batted ball. The fielder was not attempting to field anything, even if the ball eventually ended up fair.

For obstruction, the fielder ... not in the act of fielding a batted ball... impeded the progress of the batter-runner.

Once F3 pulled up, she was not longer in the act of fielding the batted ball, so she was no longer protected, so she must yield to the batter-runner, so there was obstruction.

I assume after awhile, you will tell us how it was ruled on the field, and how the protest turned out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1