The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Deflected Ball Interference/Obstruction ? NFHS / ASA rules difference (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/84077-deflected-ball-interference-obstruction-nfhs-asa-rules-difference.html)

HugoTafurst Mon Dec 12, 2011 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 804033)
Did not read how far the ball traveled toward F6, (1 foot, 2 feet, 5 feet, 10 feet, etc.???). All we know is that the ball went toward F6. Beyond a step and a reach from the first touch spot, 8-8-6 is used.

1) re: 8-8-6 as you quoted, the OP is not about a runner being hit by a batted/deflected ball.
It is about a runner interferreing (or not) with a fielder fielding a deflected ball.

2) Step and reach does not apply here since we are talking ball. But if it helps, the ball was deflected well away from the pitcher. It was not a "muff" nor an "error".
F6 was trying to gain control of a ball that had been deflected by the pitcher.

Tex Tue Dec 13, 2011 01:04pm

Thanks for the additional information that was missing. "F6 was trying to gain control of a ball that had been deflected by the pitcher". What you have now describes the definition of "Initial Play 2-47-3-A"

2-47-3 INITIAL PLAY ... A fielder is considered to be making an initial play on a fair batted ball when she:
a. Has a reasonable chance to gain control of a ground ball that no other fielder (except the pitcher) has touched.

Call is interference per rule book in NFHS.

HugoTafurst Tue Dec 13, 2011 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 804256)
Thanks for the additional information that was missing. "F6 was trying to gain control of a ball that had been deflected by the pitcher". What you have now describes the definition of "Initial Play 2-47-3-A"

2-47-3 INITIAL PLAY ... A fielder is considered to be making an initial play on a fair batted ball when she:
a. Has a reasonable chance to gain control of a ground ball that no other fielder (except the pitcher) has touched.

Call is interference per rule book in NFHS.

Only because it is the slow season.........

Don't you think
Quote:

Ground ball to F1 deflected off her glove towards F6R1 bumps into F6 as she is going for the ball.
describes
"F6 trying to gain control of a ball that had been deflected by the pitcher".

:rolleyes:

Tex Wed Dec 14, 2011 08:35am

My mistake. You wrote F1 to F6. My brain said F4 to F6. Either way, this is interference for NFHS. Again, sorry.

HugoTafurst Wed Dec 14, 2011 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 804547)
My mistake. You wrote F1 to F6. My brain said F4 to F6. Either way, this is interference for NFHS. Again, sorry.

:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1