The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   More obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/8371-more-obstruction.html)

Andy Wed Apr 23, 2003 11:48am

This HS season, I have been really working on seeing and calling obstruction because I believe that several types of obstruction are missed. I think that we have discussed the topic several times on the different boards. I had this play last night in a HS V game. Let me know what you all think.

R1 on first, ball hit back to F1. F1 turns to throw to second but throws the ball to the third base side and over F4. F4 reaches for the thrown ball and falls down on the third base side of second base as the ball is rolling into centerfield. R1, seeing the overthrow, rounds second with the intent of going to third and stumbles over F4 still on the ground. I am PU and have trailed the play up the first baseline. I am moving across the field to cover the play at third when I see R1 stumble over F4. My left arm goes out for the obstruction call. R1 made it to third safely, so it had no bearing on the play.

My concern is if this is really obstruction. R1 got to where F4 was on the ground before F4 really had a chance to get out of her way. My reasoning is that once the errant throw got by F4, she is no longer involved in the play and is subject to obstruction.

Thoughts?

SamNVa Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:01pm

Andy,

That sounds right to me. The obstruction rule doesn't make allowances for clumsy fielders.

SamC

CecilOne Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:30pm

Does it matter that F4 got to that position attempting to catch the ball and that if she had caught it, it would not have been obstruction? I do not see this as "about to receive".

What if a fielder falls in the path of a runner while "attempting to field a batted ball" and doesn't have time to move after it passes her? It seems to me that would be a no-call.

[Edited by CecilOne on Apr 23rd, 2003 at 03:25 PM]

blue Wed Apr 23, 2003 03:11pm

I think I would have a no call here, unless F4 does something to give me the impression that she is obstructing. If it's a bam-bam play, I think it's a no call.

mick Wed Apr 23, 2003 03:26pm

Andy,
Seems to me that we have to look at the type and timing of contact.

<LI>Did R1 step on F4?
<LI>Did R1 make any effort to avoid F4?
<LI>Did F4 attempt to get up and tripped R1?
<LI>Was F4 still sprawling from momentum and contacted F4?

Then we get to judge interference, obstruction, train wreck.

Of course, if F4 obstructs and <u>then</u> R1 somehow interferes, then we only call the interference.
mick

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 23, 2003 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blue
I think I would have a no call here, unless F4 does something to give me the impression that she is obstructing. If it's a bam-bam play, I think it's a no call.
I would have to agree. Just as we do not expect a runner to disappear into thin air once put out, why would you expect a defender to be able to do the same thing.

If F4 didn't have time to move, no call. Even if she just laid there, that may be preferable to trying to get up and getting in the runner's way, hence definite obstruction. At least while prone on the ground, the runner is permitted to leap over the defender.

HTBT.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1