The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Co-ed Missed Base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/83447-co-ed-missed-base.html)

IRISHMAFIA Sat Nov 26, 2011 01:08pm

Co-ed Missed Base
 
ASA Co-Ed

Two outs, bottom of 7th, tied game, runners on 2B & 3B.

Male batter draws a base on balls and trots down and touches 1B, R1 scores and R2 heads toward 3B, but breaks off early and heads toward the plate for the celebration.

Pitcher gets BU's attention as if to have a conversation and waits until R2 leaves playable territory. Pitcher then appeals R2 missing 3B. Umpire accepts the appeal and rules R2 out.

What, if any, is your ruling?

CecilOne Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 800148)
ASA Co-Ed

Two outs, bottom of 7th, tied game, runners on 2B & 3B.

Male batter draws a base on balls and trots down and touches 1B, R1 scores and R2 heads toward 3B, but breaks off early and heads toward the plate for the celebration.

Pitcher gets BU's attention as if to have a conversation and waits until R2 leaves playable territory. Pitcher then appeals R2 missing 3B. Umpire accepts the appeal and rules R2 out.

What, if any, is your ruling?

I think the only sig of corec is that the batter gets two bases, forcing the runners. So, it is just a question of whether bases have to be touched after the game "ends", and I say no.
Disclaimer, did not look it up, not up to date on dead ball running like home runs.

NCASAUmp Sun Nov 27, 2011 10:45am

I would say that since the male BR is awarded 2B and not 1B, R2 no longer has the rights to 2B and is forced to advance. The defense properly appealed, so this would be a force out.

Since the 3rd out was a force out, no runs score, we go to the 8th.

CecilOne Sun Nov 27, 2011 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 800209)
I would say that since the male BR is awarded 2B and not 1B, R2 no longer has the rights to 2B and is forced to advance. The defense properly appealed, so this would be a force out.

Since the 3rd out was a force out, no runs score, we go to the 8th.

OK, help me with nitty-gritty. Isn't the male batter awarded 2nd if followed by a female batter, and that is nul if the game or inning end.

Also, is R2 going to 3rd an award, because of the BB 2 bases, or really a force?

NCASAUmp Sun Nov 27, 2011 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 800236)
OK, help me with nitty-gritty. Isn't the male batter awarded 2nd if followed by a female batter, and that is nul if the game or inning end.

Also, is R2 going to 3rd an award, because of the BB 2 bases, or really a force?

The male batter is always awarded 2nd base. Always, always, always.

UmpireErnie Sun Nov 27, 2011 06:28pm

It is no different than the scenario with two outs and bases loaded for a female batter who draws a walk, and R2 on 2B fails to touch 3B.

A proper appeal will result in the third out and the run does not score.

There is no "exception" for the runner to not have to touch the base he/she is forced to just because the force was made by a male batter being awarded two bases on a walk.

P.S. In my experience most coed SP teams will have no idea they can appeal this. You and your partner (if you have one) will be the only ones who know. Pause long enough to make sure the defense will not surprise you with an appeal.. as soon as it is clear they will not, exit the field the game is over.

MNBlue Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:25am

I don't work SP, but I was watching a friend play U-trip co-ed. In that game, when a male was walked, the female batting next was given the option to hit or take a walk. Is that a U-trip book rule or does it sound local? Does ASA have a similar 'option'?

NCASAUmp Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 800370)
I don't work SP, but I was watching a friend play U-trip co-ed. In that game, when a male was walked, the female batting next was given the option to hit or take a walk. Is that a U-trip book rule or does it sound local? Does ASA have a similar 'option'?

ASA has a similar rule.

Less than two outs, the female batter must bat.

With two outs, the female batter has the option to bat or take an award of 1B.

In either case, the male batter is always awarded 2B.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Nov 28, 2011 02:47pm

I didn't look it up, and am just guessing. I'm going to go with the timing play logic, similar to runners tagging. So if the runner from third scored prior to a legal appeal on another runner for leaving a base too early, the run would score.

Similarly, w/ runners on second & third and 2 outs, a hard ground ball to F1 who throws it over the fence. BR would be awarded second base, and runners would advance appropriately. If runner from third scored, and runner from second didn't touch third base, but came in for the celebration, the run would count and game over.

Yeah/nay?

Tru_in_Blu Mon Nov 28, 2011 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 800209)
I would say that since the male BR is awarded 2B and not 1B, R2 no longer has the rights to 2B and is forced to advance. The defense properly appealed, so this would be a force out.

Since the 3rd out was a force out, no runs score, we go to the 8th.

I'll add that while R2 may have been "forced to advance", I don't think this is a force out.

NCASAUmp Mon Nov 28, 2011 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 800441)
I'll add that while R2 may have been "forced to advance", I don't think this is a force out.

Care to explain why?

Tru_in_Blu Mon Nov 28, 2011 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 800451)
Care to explain why?

Night At The Museum: Battle for the Smithsonian

THINKING.... THINKING..... THINKING.....

I'm thinking back to a case play or perhaps a discussion on this board. Game is FP in this scenario. W/ bases loaded and 2 outs, batter draws a walk. R1 casually walks toward home. R2 agressively takes third and over-runs. F2 throws to F5 who tags R2 for the third out before R1 touches home.

In this case I believe the run still counted.

NCASAUmp Mon Nov 28, 2011 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 800459)
Night At The Museum: Battle for the Smithsonian

THINKING.... THINKING..... THINKING.....

I'm thinking back to a case play or perhaps a discussion on this board. Game is FP in this scenario. W/ bases loaded and 2 outs, batter draws a walk. R1 casually walks toward home. R2 agressively takes third and over-runs. F2 throws to F5 who tags R2 for the third out before R1 touches home.

In this case I believe the run still counted.

But in your sitch, the runner HAD reached the base to which they were forced. Very different from the OP.

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 28, 2011 05:28pm

Score the run. An award beyond 1st to the BR (2nd base in this case) does not create a force.

Imagine the simpler situation, R1 and R2 on 3rd and 2nd, 2 outs. Grounder to third who incidentally touches third before throwing, and throws the ball into the dugout. BR is awarded 2nd - R2 is not suddenly forced to third. Or additionally, should R2 not ever advance to 3rd, but run off the field with the apparent win, you do not have an out here.

NCASAUmp Mon Nov 28, 2011 07:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 800491)
Score the run. An award beyond 1st to the BR (2nd base in this case) does not create a force.

Imagine the simpler situation, R1 and R2 on 3rd and 2nd, 2 outs. Grounder to third who incidentally touches third before throwing, and throws the ball into the dugout. BR is awarded 2nd - R2 is not suddenly forced to third. Or additionally, should R2 not ever advance to 3rd, but run off the field with the apparent win, you do not have an out here.

But that's just it. R2 is forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner. R2 no longer has the right to occupy his base because of this, and therefore, I believe this is a force out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1