The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 12, 2003, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Double Nit Picken

Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichiganBlue
In Fed the pitch starts with any motion associated with the windup after the hands are brought together.
The actual wording of the rule is
Quote:
the pitch starts when one hand is taken off the ball or the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands have been brought together
Since in Fed (as in ASA) the "touch" or bringing of the hands together may be with the hands still or in motion, this little aspect of the Fed rule has seemed problematical to me.

For example, is this legal (it would be in ASA)?
Both feet on the plate
Hands brought together. Pause.
Hands raised (together) to chest level. Pause.
Separate hands to begin windmill motion.

A motion like this was described over on eteamz. The pitcher used this motion on every pitch.

Legal or illegal in Fed?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1