The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 03, 2003, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
"Fair line" - well, it is actually offically called the "foul line" even though it is in fair territory.

The interference is not for running outside the running lane, for blocking F2's throwing lane, or even for getting hit with the thrown ball; it is for interfering with the play at 1B while outside the running lane. (ASA 8-2-E; NFHS 8-2-5).

First, then, did F3 have a play? This is where I would begin to look for an intentional beaning of the BR - i.e. if F2 was obviously not throwing to F3, but instead throwing to the back of the BR. But, I'd need pretty good indications before I would eject. It'd take less for a warning.

If it did appear to be a legitimate throw and F3 had a play, where did the ball hit the BR? Did it hit the BR over fair territory (out) or over foul territory (no call). When the BR is straddling the line, the call is made based on the position of the ball. (ASA 2002 Case Book Play 8.2-16).

I could not find a case play for NFHS on a runner straddling the line, so lacking other guidance, I would call it the same way.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1