The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/8064-interference.html)

CecilOne Sat Mar 29, 2003 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
... snip ... I think too many people are confusing this with contacting a batted ball twice as opposed to interfering with the catcher's ability to make an out.
ditto, there is no batted ball

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Mar 31, 2003 01:05pm

Mike,

I didn't quote the entire/whole rule (FED 7-3-6)

The ellipsis, "..." means that I left something out. The something in this case was something that I felt was not pertinent but given your concern about the use of the word "whole," I will explain. The first sentence of this rule (following the introduction of Rule 7 Batting, Section 3 Batting Infractions) Article 6 states: "If the bat breaks and is hit by the ball or hits a runner or a fielder, no interference will be called." It continues with the portion I quoted and felt was pertinent, "If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference shall be called." I was focusing on the interference portion of the rule and somewhat missed the assumption of hitting the ball.

I understand that the ball has not been batted (swing and a miss). However, the infractions listed in Rule 7, Section 3 are not specific to having "hit" the ball. I also recognise that the first part of this rule concerns a broken bat (surprisingly, I have seen a metal bat break) and that generally, the only way to break a bat is to hit a ball.

So the first part of this rule involves hitting a ball, breaking a bat, and the flying portions of the bat. The second part of the rule, one would assume also involves hitting a ball, NOT breaking the bat, and the thrown bat interferes with the defense's efforts. Perhaps it is not applicable, as Cecil says, because the ball has not been batted.

ASA has definite rules addressing this very specific situation. FED is missing those rules but I must assume that the same result as ASA (interference call by the umpire) is likely desired.

In my opinion, the batter has already had her opportunity and was unsuccessful. To call her out at this point is not going to be heatedly discussed and won't be seen as a great injustice by the offensive coach. Obviously this last is my opinion and I don't have the rules to back it up - or to say that such a ruling is wrong. But perhaps I will be prepared when it happens in my game.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 31, 2003 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Mike,

I didn't quote the entire/whole rule (FED 7-3-6)

The ellipsis, "..." means that I left something out. The something in this case was something that I felt was not pertinent but given your concern about the use of the word "whole," I will explain. The first sentence of this rule (following the introduction of Rule 7 Batting, Section 3 Batting Infractions) Article 6 states: "If the bat breaks and is hit by the ball or hits a runner or a fielder, no interference will be called." It continues with the portion I quoted and felt was pertinent, "If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference shall be called." I was focusing on the interference portion of the rule and somewhat missed the assumption of hitting the ball.

I understand that the ball has not been batted (swing and a miss). However, the infractions listed in Rule 7, Section 3 are not specific to having "hit" the ball. I also recognise that the first part of this rule concerns a broken bat (surprisingly, I have seen a metal bat break) and that generally, the only way to break a bat is to hit a ball.

So the first part of this rule involves hitting a ball, breaking a bat, and the flying portions of the bat. The second part of the rule, one would assume also involves hitting a ball, NOT breaking the bat, and the thrown bat interferes with the defense's efforts. Perhaps it is not applicable, as Cecil says, because the ball has not been batted.

ASA has definite rules addressing this very specific situation. FED is missing those rules but I must assume that the same result as ASA (interference call by the umpire) is likely desired.

In my opinion, the batter has already had her opportunity and was unsuccessful. To call her out at this point is not going to be heatedly discussed and won't be seen as a great injustice by the offensive coach. Obviously this last is my opinion and I don't have the rules to back it up - or to say that such a ruling is wrong. But perhaps I will be prepared when it happens in my game.

DTTB,

Actually, I was just kidding about this as I would think that if the batter THREW anything at the ball, including a whole or partial bat, interference would be the call.

Which will bring be to another play in another thread.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1