The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   I think I kicked this IP call (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/80613-i-think-i-kicked-ip-call.html)

okla21fan Thu Sep 15, 2011 10:58am

I think I kicked this IP call
 
fall HS league (using 'combo ASA/FED pitching rules) - meaning pitching can pitch either rule set if they chose (I know , I know... don't even start in on that :rolleyes: )

pitcher takes a legal position on the pitcher's plate, hands apart and pauses (simulates sign) , hands come together, then the pitcher does this:

Her glove hand separates and begins to arc backwards (as she would with her pitching hand) and stops basically pointing towards 2nd base. the glove hand then, changes directions towards home plate at the same time her pitching hand begins to arc backwards towards 2nd base. The glove hand then continuous to make a full revolution at the same time the pitching hand follows this motion (also making a full revolution much like her normal pitching wind up)

so all and all, you have a glove hand/arm mimicking the normal wind-up followed by the pitching arm (if one was looking at a clock on the windmill, the glove arm would be '15 minutes' faster than the pitching arm'. (ala King and his Court)

I was U1 and threw my left arm out and called illegal, but frankly, I am not finding any rule limiting what the 'glove arm' can or cannot do during the wind-up. Like I said, I think I missed it.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:21pm

Can't really fit that into any of the things labelled as illegal in either set. That said... if I was asked to work a bizarre hybrid ruleset like that - I might just never call IP unless it was egregious (like ... oh, pitching without being on the plate at all, or a 3 foot leap)

CecilOne Thu Sep 15, 2011 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 787852)
pitching without being on the plate at all, or a 3 foot leap)

Are those illegal? ;) :D

txtrooper Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:05pm

The pitch begins with the seperation of the hands (ASA/FED) or makes a motion that is part of the windup after bring the hands together (FED) and the pitcher may not stop or reverse her direction. The ball must also be delivered immediately. It sounds like the pitching hand is stopped in front of the pitcher when the glove moves back? if so, this would make the pitch illegal in both rule sets.

UmpireErnie Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:17am

OK.. so assume the pitching hand is moving the entire time but the glove hand is moving as well and staying "15 minutes ahead" of the pitching hand. Other than the fact that it looks weird what makes it illegal?

Skahtboi Mon Sep 19, 2011 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 788300)
OK.. so assume the pitching hand is moving the entire time but the glove hand is moving as well and staying "15 minutes ahead" of the pitching hand. Other than the fact that it looks weird what makes it illegal?

If all of the criteria are met that make it a legal pitch, as you imply, then it is a legal pitch.

ronald Mon Sep 19, 2011 04:28pm

If U1 means the base umpire, then I would say it is not your call. You have the feet-- leap, etc. not the hands and wind up.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Sep 19, 2011 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 788449)
If U1 means the base umpire, then I would say it is not your call. You have the feet-- leap, etc. not the hands and wind up.

So, if the pitcher continues a wind-up motion after releasing the pitch and the BU sees it while the PU is watching the pitch to the plate, s/he shouldn't call it? :rolleyes:

HugoTafurst Tue Sep 20, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 788449)
If U1 means the base umpire, then I would say it is not your call. You have the feet-- leap, etc. not the hands and wind up.

That may be general guidance, but not an absolute.

MD Longhorn Tue Sep 20, 2011 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 788449)
If U1 means the base umpire, then I would say it is not your call. You have the feet-- leap, etc. not the hands and wind up.

Not completely correct. That's your primary, but BU should continue to watch. About the only thing I can't see a BU calling is a 24" violation.

Andy Tue Sep 20, 2011 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 788499)
Not completely correct. That's your primary, but BU should continue to watch. About the only thing I can't see a BU calling is a 24" violation.

Except in NCAA, where they put those very helpful white lines down on the field from the pitcher's plate...:rolleyes:...just remember though, that any NCAA coach will tell you that it is only the OTHER pitcher that is illegal!!! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1