The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 29, 2003, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Mike,
I did concede that any doubt on the intent / purpose / effect of the touch would go to calling the out.

But how about this one: R1 on 2B, B2 hits long into the outfield. R1 has a full head of steam rounding 3B toward home. 3B coach holds her hand out and she and R1 exchange a "low 5" as she runs by.

That's a touch. Is it an out? I say no.

If I can ascertain that the player hit the coach's hand, I have nothing.

However, if the coach initiates contact while the ball is still within the confines of the field and the defense may make the catch and, in my judgment, the coach's effort is to stop or get the attention of the runner, then I may have an out there. Especially if the coach is not in the coach's box.

The coaches know, or at least should know, they shouldn't be anywhere near an active runner during a live ball. The benefit is going to the defense.



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1