The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2003, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
The "train wreck" no call applies to a thrown ball, not a batted ball.

Sit#2 - the rule is against "physically assisting," not touching. A push is assisting. A touch is not necessarily assisting. Suppose the coach & runner had exchanged a high 5 on the way by? Is that assisting? No. The coach's pat on the back would the HTBT judgment, but I'd probably not call it, but warn the coach he should cut it out.
Ditto to both and I believe we as umpires must judge whether there was assistance or just touching (for the sake of the play, not the offensiveness).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1