![]() |
ASA 2011 Rule Book Question
Rule 8, sec.1 THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER
E. When a fair batted ball strikes the person, attached equipment, or clothing of an umpire or runner: 6. Touches a runner in contact with a base. EFFECT: The runner is not out. The ball is live or dead depending on the position of the fielder closest to the base. Can someone clarify what makes it a live or dead ball? I'm confused. |
answered my own question
Never mind, I answered my own question. It depends on whether the fielder is in front of the bag/runner or behind it/her.
|
Quote:
Bear in mind that ASA does not include the pitcher in this category. Welcome to the forum! |
FYI pdm54 I had this happen to me earlier in the year and I called it wrong. AFter looking at the rule book that evening, I found this is one of those rules that are different between baseball and softball. In baseball the runner is NOT protected by the base, but in softball they are protected while on the base.
A further question this brings up.... R1 ar 2nd, R2 and 1st. Batter hits a ground ball past the pitcher and hits R1 while standing on 2nd. The umpire feels the SS was moving behind 2nd base to make a play and still had the oppurtunity to make a play. Per ASA 8.1.E.6 the runner is not out. Also, the ball is dead since the runner was in front of an infielder who still had a play on the ball. The question is what do you do with the batter and the 2 base runners? I do not see this explained in the ASA rules. Personally, I would give the batter 1st, and move the base runners to 2nd and 3rd becasue they are forced. Is that correct? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Thanks IRISHMAFIA. I was looking at the rules and not the Rule Supplement. Now that you have pointed me to the RS, you are correct, it is well spelled out.
Thanks |
Thanks for the input everyone. RS #44 pretty well sums it up, however is the pitcher excluded or not?
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I could be wrong. Any other thoughts? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16am. |