The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Losing Pitcher..scoring question? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/7552-losing-pitcher-scoring-question.html)

Doc 2 Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:25pm

Game is tied at the end of regulation play. Start 8th inning with runner on 2nd and one out (ITB). Visitors can't score. Home team takes plate with runner on 2nd. Visiting pitcher (A) has pitched complete game: walks next two batters, loading bases, one out. Coach substitutes pitcher (B). B faces one batter, who singles. Winning run crosses plate.

Coach says pitcher B only faced one batter, but is losing pitcher because the run that crossed the plate was placed by rule (ITB)and not credited to pitcher A.

Is this correct?

greymule Wed Feb 19, 2003 12:56pm

Where have I been? Every ITB I ever saw started with a runner on 2B and no outs, not 1 out.

I can't imagine what the answer to the question is. One can make the argument that the runner on 2B is not the responsibility of the pitcher who started the inning. But how is he the responsibility of the other pitcher?

WestMichiganBlue Wed Feb 19, 2003 01:25pm

Speaking FED
 
The run is charged to the defensive team, not to the pitcher.
WMB

gsf23 Wed Feb 19, 2003 03:03pm

So then you would have no losing pitcher?

WestMichiganBlue Wed Feb 19, 2003 05:50pm

I didn't write the book,
 
I just quote it. And as an umpire I don't really give a damn who gets charged with a loss or win. All I need to do is tell the scorekeeper what the rule.

Anyway - yes, there is no losing pitcher, only a winning one.
WMB

whiskers_ump Wed Feb 19, 2003 06:59pm

Doc 2 and gsf23,

As stated by WMB, "<B> For the tie-breaker procedure, the run scored
by the player starting as a runner at second base shall be charged to
the defensive team, not to the <i>pitcher</i>"</b>

See NFHS 2003 Rule 9 Sec 6 ART 3 Note, page 75.

Doc 2, what State starts ITB with one out when placing the runner
at 2B?

BTW, WMB, it is the umpires duty to correct scorekeeping errors
if brought to our attention prior to departing the field, However,
I seriously doubt that this would be a problem that would ever be
brought to our attention. More like "http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/madgo.gif" kill the umpire!

BTW Doc 2 - http://www.stopstart.freeserve.co.uk/smilie/bigwave.gif welcome to the board.

glen

Doc 2 Wed Feb 19, 2003 09:56pm

Thanks everyone for your response. The coach is sticking to her initial call. She agrees with NFHS 2003 Rule 9 Sec 6 ART 3 and says the run will not count against Pitcher B's ERA. But, Pitcher B will still be losing pitcher.

She used NFHS Rule 9 Sec 6 ART b. (1) as her argument. I read this rule to be used in a game of less than 4 innings. Additionally, She said UIL requires a winning and losing pitcher.

.....Whiskers_Ump....we are in Texas. We've played lots of ASA games where ITB starts with runner on 2B and one out so we didn't question it this time.

Thanks again everyone.

Doc 2

whiskers_ump Wed Feb 19, 2003 10:45pm

Doc 2,

I am also in TexAs, East Texas...Call from the Beaumont chapter.
You must use the 1 out thing in league play only. Never had it
for any tournaments around this or surrounding areas, i.e. Houston
Lufkin, nor La.

http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/Gif/papa.gif

glen


Doc 2 Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26pm

Whiskers_Ump,

I've read a lot of your post's over the last year. Finally decided to register to ask the question in this thread.

Do you interpret NFHS Rule 9 Sec 6 ART b. (1) the same as our coach? Game tied, 8th inning, bases loaded, 1 out....new pitcher, 1 pitch, hit single,....losing pitcher.

Thanks,

Doc 2

bluezebra Fri Feb 21, 2003 12:36am

NEVER trust a coach to interpret rules unless she/he is a qualified, trained umpire.

Bob

whiskers_ump Fri Feb 21, 2003 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Doc 2
Whiskers_Ump,

I've read a lot of your post's over the last year. Finally decided to register to ask the question in this thread.

Do you interpret NFHS Rule 9 Sec 6 ART b. (1) the same as our coach? Game tied, 8th inning, bases loaded, 1 out....new pitcher, 1 pitch, hit single,....losing pitcher.

Thanks,

Doc 2

Doc 2,

Not to be smart, but there is No NFHS Rule 9 Sec 6 ART b.
ART should have a number and not a letter. You are probably
referring to R9 S6 A6 b. 1. Yes. However, this not the decision
of the umpire.

glen


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1