The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction but with a twist. (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/74417-obstruction-but-twist.html)

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 26, 2011 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 783868)
IMO, mind you this is based on nothing more than MY interpretation of the rules, if you announce an the runner is awarded home and they dont touch home, i dont see how its not abandonment. did the runner make an attempt to touch home? no, did the runner go to/stay in the dugout? yes. unless im missing something, why is that not abandonment?

Re-read the rule that actually uses the word abandonment ... can you apply that rule during a dead ball? An awarded base is done during a dead ball. If the runner fails to do their baserunning duties, the defense must appeal to get an out.

jr131981 Fri Aug 26, 2011 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 783884)
Re-read the rule that actually uses the word abandonment ... can you apply that rule during a dead ball? An awarded base is done during a dead ball. If the runner fails to do their baserunning duties, the defense must appeal to get an out.

rule 8: the batter runner and runner
section 7: the runner is out
part u: when a runner abandons a base and enters the team area or leaves live ball territory.

i see nothing regarding live ball or dead ball

help me understand how the OPs scenario is different than youngumps from post 26
Quote:

Runner at third, catch and carry situation. Dead ball, you've got home. [runner] Goes straight to the dugout

youngump Fri Aug 26, 2011 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 783890)
rule 8: the batter runner and runner
section 7: the runner is out
part u: when a runner abandons a base and enters the team area or leaves live ball territory.

i see nothing regarding live ball or dead ball

help me understand how the OPs scenario is different than youngumps from post 26

Notice, that my post is not abandonment. I was asking if it might be a situation where we didn't need an appeal. Steve who you should listen to answered my question there. So they don't actually need to show a difference to get a different ruling because the ruling is the same.

MD Longhorn Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 783890)
help me understand how the OPs scenario is different than youngumps from post 26

It's not. Neither is it abandonment.

jr131981 Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 784281)
It's not. Neither is it abandonment.

ok...

help me understand what the abandonment rule is bc i dont see how youngumps scenario, runner on 3rd, catch and carry, runner is awarded home but simply walks into the 3B dugout instead of running to home plate is not abandonment.

im not sure if im using an improper definition of abandonment or am envisioning something different in my head.

thanks

AtlUmpSteve Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 784402)
ok...

help me understand what the abandonment rule is bc i dont see how youngumps scenario, runner on 3rd, catch and carry, runner is awarded home but simply walks into the 3B dugout instead of running to home plate is not abandonment.

im not sure if im using an improper definition of abandonment or am envisioning something different in my head.

thanks

Try reading post #26 in this thread.

jr131981 Tue Aug 30, 2011 12:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 784408)
Try reading post #26 in this thread.

post 26 doesnt exactly give the definition of abandonment

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 30, 2011 07:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 784417)
post 26 doesnt exactly give the definition of abandonment

Nor does Rule #1. A BR/R is never out for abandonment. They are out for entering DBT during a live ball. Period. That is it. It is all that an ASA umpire should take into consideration in ruling a runner out for what you call "abandonment".

AtlUmpSteve Tue Aug 30, 2011 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 784417)
post 26 doesnt exactly give the definition of abandonment

You are right, it was late at night.

Try post #27.

jr131981 Tue Aug 30, 2011 07:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 784451)
Nor does Rule #1. A BR/R is never out for abandonment. They are out for entering DBT during a live ball. Period. That is it. It is all that an ASA umpire should take into consideration in ruling a runner out for what you call "abandonment".

im not the one calling it abandonment, the ASA rule 8-7-U is the one calling it abandonment. the rule makes no mention of it has to be a live ball.

let me try a different example. runner on 2nd, catch and carry, you award the runner 3rd base, but the runner for whatever reason, goes to their dugout instead. IMO, there are 3 possible scenarios. runner is out for abandonment, the defense appeals (i guess 3B) before the next pitch, or the defense does not appeal and you count the run.

clearly me definition of "abandons a base" is different than the rest of yours, im just trying to figure out why.

SRW Wed Aug 31, 2011 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 784572)
im not the one calling it abandonment, the ASA rule 8-7-U is the one calling it abandonment. the rule makes no mention of it has to be a live ball.

let me try a different example. runner on 2nd, catch and carry, you award the runner 3rd base, but the runner for whatever reason, goes to their dugout instead. IMO, there are 3 possible scenarios. runner is out for abandonment, the defense appeals (i guess 3B) before the next pitch, or the defense does not appeal and you count the run.

clearly me definition of "abandons a base" is different than the rest of yours, im just trying to figure out why.

Can anything happen when the status of the ball is dead?

Assume you called time to work a lineup change, and the runner on 3B goes into her dugout during this time to get her ponytail holder. Gonna call her out for abandonment?

MD Longhorn Wed Aug 31, 2011 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 784508)
You are right, it was late at night.

Try post #27.

No ... it moved.

jr131981 Wed Aug 31, 2011 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 784626)
Can anything happen when the status of the ball is dead?

Assume you called time to work a lineup change, and the runner on 3B goes into her dugout during this time to get her ponytail holder. Gonna call her out for abandonment?

i see your point,

now what if its SP, and the runner stays in the dugout, and the ball is put back in play (and the defense doesnt appeal) are you going to count the run?

we can go back and forth on this scenarios, but what i really need is a the definition of "abandons a base" as per 8-7-U

IRISHMAFIA Wed Aug 31, 2011 07:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jr131981 (Post 784807)
i see your point,

now what if its SP, and the runner stays in the dugout, and the ball is put back in play (and the defense doesnt appeal) are you going to count the run?

we can go back and forth on this scenarios, but what i really need is a the definition of "abandons a base" as per 8-7-U

You know, you can hang your hat on this, but the word "abandon" is a matter of the need of a word from the English language, but it is not a defined violation. The violation is for leaving LBT while the ball is live. And it must be a live ball.

CecilOne Thu Sep 01, 2011 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 784813)
You know, you can hang your hat on this, but the word "abandon" is a matter of the need of a word from the English language, but it is not a defined violation. The violation is for leaving LBT while the ball is live. And it must be a live ball.

Runner or Batter/Runner " leaving LBT while the ball is live."

(not a Batter)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1