| 
			
			FED rules; 1 out, R1 on 2B, batter hits slow chopper on infield.  F6 fails in her attempt to tag R1; realizes that she does not have a play at 1B and wisely flips ball to pitcher.
 Sit 1: Batter-runner overruns 1B, turns right and starts back to 1B. Coach is screaming for her to go to 2B (she wants a play on the runner so R1 can score).  Batter-runner heads for 2B.  Legal?
 
 Sit 2: same play, but with 2 outs.  Batter-runner overruns 1B, turns left and starts toward 2B.  Coach is screaming "get back" and runner returns.  Legal?
 
 |