Look Back simplified
There is a lot of verbage concerning the L-B rule. However, it becomes fairly easy to administer if you just follow this logic. When a runner is off base, and the pitcher has the ball within the 16' circle, there are three steps in the process - STOP, COMMIT, and PROCEED NON-STOP.
The L-B rule is NOT in effect UNTIL the the runner STOPS her forward motion. Then she must COMMIT to either the next base or the previous one. The time allowed to commit is your judgement; how long will you give her to make up her mind. Then she must proceed non-stop to that base. If she fails to commit promptly or fails to proceed non-stop you call her out.
Now apply that simple process to a runner overrunning first when the pitcher has the ball. When she ceases running towards right field and turns, she has STOPPED and the L-B rule is in effect. Regardless of which way she turns, she must now commit. If it is to 1B then she must proceed non-stop to first. If she commits to 2B, then she must go to second.
(Admittedly, it would be physically difficult for a runner to turn right and commit to 2B, so generally if she turns right you may assume that she is committed to 1B)
In both the situations listed in my original post, the runner failed to go non-stop to the committed base; in both cases the runner would be called out.
Now apply that process to the runner rounding 1B towards second when the pitcher has the ball. Runner is not committed to 2B yet because she has not stopped! When she finally stops (2 steps or half way to 2B) then she must commit. Then proceed non-stop. You have no call until AFTER the STOP.
WMB
|