The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NCAA OBS penalty (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/69110-ncaa-obs-penalty.html)

CecilOne Fri May 06, 2011 09:40am

NCAA OBS penalty
 
In NCAA, there is a rule that an OBS by the same player after a rounding/returning warning results in an automatic base award. If read literally, it says nothing about where the runner ended up on her own.

Case: after a warning, F3 obstructs R1 rounding 1st.
(A) R1 stops, goes back to 1st.
(B) R1 makes it to 2nd on her own.

In (A), R1 is awarded 2nd, but what about (B)?

MD Longhorn Fri May 06, 2011 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 756553)
In NCAA, there is a rule that an OBS by the same player after a rounding/returning warning results in an automatic base award. If read literally, it says nothing about where the runner ended up on her own.

Case: after a warning, F3 obstructs R1 rounding 1st.
(A) R1 stops, goes back to 1st.
(B) R1 makes it to 2nd on her own.

In (A), R1 is awarded 2nd, but what about (B)?

You should never take "where the runner ended up on her own" into account (I believe this to be true in all rulesets).

And why are you mentioning a warning? That's not in any ruleset either (other than possible local yokel rules).

I believe (assuming you're really CecilOne and not a hacker) that you already know this. But A) is not correct either. It's not an automatic award.

HugoTafurst Fri May 06, 2011 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 756559)

(Snip)
And why are you mentioning a warning? That's not in any ruleset either (other than possible local yokel rules).
(Snip)



Who are you calling a yokel????

NCAA 9.4.2.4 Effect:
"Delayed-dead ball is signalled. The umpire shall issue a warning to the offending individual and notify her coach......."

topper Fri May 06, 2011 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 756559)
You should never take "where the runner ended up on her own" into account (I believe this to be true in all rulesets).

And why are you mentioning a warning? That's not in any ruleset either (other than possible local yokel rules).

I believe (assuming you're really CecilOne and not a hacker) that you already know this. But A) is not correct either. It's not an automatic award.

You've stepped in it now "Big Time". Just be sure you clean your foot off before you put it back in your mouth.

MD Longhorn Fri May 06, 2011 10:23am

OK, OK... I was wrong on the warning. Flat wrong and egregiously wrong.

But let me be the first to say, "That's freaking insane." Why would every team not intentionally obstruct the first girl that hits an apparent double (or more)?

topper Fri May 06, 2011 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 756553)
In NCAA, there is a rule that an OBS by the same player after a rounding/returning warning results in an automatic base award. If read literally, it says nothing about where the runner ended up on her own.

Case: after a warning, F3 obstructs R1 rounding 1st.
(A) R1 stops, goes back to 1st.
(B) R1 makes it to 2nd on her own.

In (A), R1 is awarded 2nd, but what about (B)?

9.4.2.4 EFFECT - ...The awards shall be to the base beyond the base she would have reached had obstruction not occurred unless the runners safely advance further on their own, in which case no award is given.

youngump Fri May 06, 2011 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 756571)
OK, OK... I was wrong on the warning. Flat wrong and egregiously wrong.

But let me be the first to say, "That's freaking insane." Why would every team not intentionally obstruct the first girl that hits an apparent double (or more)?

I don't do NCAA either, but from my casual understanding of the rule, obstruction is penalized much the same as in ASA/NFHS except that when you obstruct on rounding and returning you ALSO get a warning. If you do it again you get ejected. (And possibly from the OP you also get an extra base?)

topper Fri May 06, 2011 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 756571)
OK, OK... I was wrong on the warning. Flat wrong and egregiously wrong.

But let me be the first to say, "That's freaking insane." Why would every team not intentionally obstruct the first girl that hits an apparent double (or more)?

Being wrong is one thing. Being arrogantly ignorant is another.

The effect quoted above answers your question for you "BT".

Dakota Fri May 06, 2011 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 756577)
Being wrong is one thing. Being arrogantly ignorant is another....

Yeah... it's called being a coach! :D:D:D

MD Longhorn Fri May 06, 2011 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by topper (Post 756577)
Being wrong is one thing. Being arrogantly ignorant is another.

I believe I ate my crow... this was unnecessary. I admit to ignorant. I don't believe I was being arrogant, although my hacker comment which came from the proliferation of fake posts in recent days might be construed that way. If it did, I'll apologize for that as well.

AtlUmpSteve Fri May 06, 2011 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 756553)
In NCAA, there is a rule that an OBS by the same player after a rounding/returning warning results in an automatic base award. If read literally, it says nothing about where the runner ended up on her own.

Case: after a warning, F3 obstructs R1 rounding 1st.
(A) R1 stops, goes back to 1st.
(B) R1 makes it to 2nd on her own.

In (A), R1 is awarded 2nd, but what about (B)?

To answer all:

One first occurrence by a player; treat the same as obstruction in ASA/NFHS, give an official warning (PU recording player number) announced to offending head coach.

One first occurence by ANOTHER player; treat the same as obstruction in ASA/NFHS, give an official warning (PU recording new player number) announced to offending head coach.

On a second (or more) occurrence by any previously warned player; treat the same as obstruction in ASA/NFHS. At the end of the play, award obstructed runner one additional base beyond the base you would have awarded (but not any additional if runner has already overrun protection).

Result of this rule: There is almost NEVER obstruction of this type in NCAA, I can't remember the last time I ever had to even give a warning!! Of course, it "accidentally" happens ALL THE TIME is ASA and NFHS.

MD Longhorn Fri May 06, 2011 01:24pm

Thanks Steve - this is less "freaking insane" than I was led to believe. I inferred (obviously incorrectly) that the "warning" was like other warnings in the book - no penalty on 1st offense, don't do it again. Knowing now that there is the "normal" penalty in ADDITION to a warning, I retract "freaking insane" and again apologize.

Dakota Fri May 06, 2011 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 756617)
Thanks Steve - this is less "freaking insane" than I was led to believe. I inferred (obviously incorrectly) that the "warning" was like other warnings in the book - no penalty on 1st offense, don't do it again. Knowing now that there is the "normal" penalty in ADDITION to a warning, I retract "freaking insane" and again apologize.

No need to keep apologizing. There will always be those looking to pounce for a cheap shot, apology or not.

MD Longhorn Fri May 06, 2011 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 756634)
No need to keep apologizing. There will always be those looking to pounce for a cheap shot, apology or not.

Sorry!

:cool::cool:

Dakota Fri May 06, 2011 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 756644)
sorry!

:cool::cool:

:p:p:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1