The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 07, 2003, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Baker
R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B. B3 hits to short left-center. The ball is fired to the infield but sails over everyone and stops near the offensive team's dugout area. F3 goes after the ball but slips, trips, falls, and twists ankle over some bats laying on the ground. By the time defense the can recover, R1 has scored with R2 on 3B & B3 standing at 2B.

Is anyone out? Who goes where?
Speaking ASA

Officially:

Dead ball. The runner being played on will be ruled out.

In this scenario, there was no obvious play on any particular runner, so all runners are returned to the base last touched at the time of the "interference."

Unofficially:

Now, if you're lucky, the defender will attain the ball and attempt to throw a still-moving runner out. Now you have a play and that runner should be declared out.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1