The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction?? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/6837-obstruction.html)

ronald Tue Jan 07, 2003 03:24pm

Given how you describe the situation, yupper.

whiskers_ump Tue Jan 07, 2003 07:43pm

I know I am going to get jumped on here, but I don't think
we can <i>assume</i> that the runner would have reached
HP. since the obstruction occurred between 1B and 2B. Most
likely 3rd???? However, this is an unusual play with a
stream being declared *in play* :D

http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/Gif/papa.gif
glen


greymule Tue Jan 07, 2003 08:06pm

Well, I was assuming a situation in which everybody in the park knew it would have been an easy HR. The question is, Do we take into account an injury caused by the obstruction?

whiskers_ump Tue Jan 07, 2003 08:22pm

Hmmmm,

Wait for Mike to tell us. Really tough. ASA Rule 4 Sec 6 D. does
allow for a substitute runner and for him/her to touch
all awarded bases, but that is as far as that one goes. As I
see this play, runner is protected to 2B because of obstruction
between 1B & 2B - but 450'. WOW, that is a long way. There are a
handful of really knowledgeable umpires that have not had a shot at
this yet. I'll stand by my originial post at this time.

http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/Gif/papa.gif
glen


IRISHMAFIA Tue Jan 07, 2003 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
How about the play where under normal circumstances the runner would have had an easy home run, but the obstruction caused an injury such that the runner could no longer run?

The outfielders are fishing the ball from a stream 450 feet away, while the runner, after tripping over F3, lies between 1B and 2B holding his leg? Give him the home run?

(Before somebody picks on the technicality, let's assume there's no fence and the stream is in play!)

If that is what you deemed he would have attained had the obstruction not occurred, absolutely! That is as long as the ground rules didn't place the stream out of play http://www.stopstart.fsnet.co.uk/Gif/WBtazani.gif


greymule Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:05am

I knew I shouldn't have thrown that stream into the post. It was just to indicate that by the time the outfielders could have retrieved the ball, Tom Arnold could have run around the bases twice.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jan 08, 2003 07:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
I knew I shouldn't have thrown that stream into the post. It was just to indicate that by the time the outfielders could have retrieved the ball, Tom Arnold could have run around the bases twice.
You wouldn't believe how many times I cover very, VERY remote areas in ground rules. I tell them if a player can hit a ball that far, I'm not stopping them at 2B and ask them if they agree. I've never had a team rep say no, but you can bet your last dollar if someone puts the ball (usually a long roller) into high grass, trees or something of the sort, the runner is around 3B by the time it gets there and the defense is screaming GR double.

I just point them toward the individual that took the ground rules and smile.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1