The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 04, 2003, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Roger: I'm going by the several plays under #238 in the 2002 OBR. These involve baserunning errors where a force is NOT removed even though a following runner has been put out. (Note the differences between NCAA and Fed/OBR, as well as the key element in Fed/OBR that the baserunning error must occur before the following runner is put out.)

In certain other plays, it is entirely possible that the defense could appeal in the "wrong" order and allow a run to score. Here's one off the top of my head:

R3 on 3B, R2 on 2B, 1 out. BR hits a double but misses first. R3 scores, and R2 scores but misses 3B. If the defense appeals R2 at 3B, then BR at 1B, the third out is a force and R3's run is nullified. If they appeal BR at 1B first, then R2's out for missing 3B (not a force) is the third out and R3's run would count.

I'll also check the ref you cited.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1