The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2003, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
With first and third, no outs, the run would count if it crossed the plate before the interference. The time of the interference, not the time of the pitch or anything else, is the determining factor. Of course, if the third out is a force, then no runs count, regardless of when any runs crossed.

A runner who crosses the plate is no longer a runner and can't be called out or sent back on interference that occurs afterward.

Interesting example of differences between ASA and OBR: R3 on 3B, R1 on 1B, one out. BR hits a double, moving R1 to 3B. R3 scored, but R1 missed 2B and BR missed 1B. In ASA, the defense must appeal 2B and then 1B for R3's run to be nullified. In OBR, the defense can appeal in any order; the run is nullified either way.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1