The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/66869-obstruction-question.html)

robbie Fri Apr 29, 2011 02:06pm

In NSA, if the obstruction is on BR before BR reaches first base, its a dead ball.

Other rule sete?

JefferMC Fri Apr 29, 2011 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by robbie (Post 754470)
In NSA, if the obstruction is on BR before BR reaches first base, its a dead ball.

Other rule sete?

I did not know that. Learn something new every day. I don't think it's in any other rule set.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 29, 2011 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by robbie (Post 754470)
In NSA, if the obstruction is on BR before BR reaches first base, its a dead ball.

Other rule sete?

I don't work NSA or keep up with their rules, so I will take you at your word. I do wonder, however, why in the world there would be such a rule.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Apr 29, 2011 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 754465)
Funny, I find it the other way around and it's my pet peeve as well. I can umpire a softball game and call obstruction 10-12 times, and never have a coach tell their fielder to cut it out ... even sometimes in cases where a base is awarded or an apparent out nullified. Drives me nuts.

Once had a partner got tired of calling OBS on F3 because she stood on the inside corner of 1B on every ground ball, even to the outfield. After the 4th time, he walked over to the coach in the dugout and told him what she was doing, that she had to stop doing it for her safety and that of the runners.

He called it again, told the coach if it happened again, he would need a substitute. Two batters and a single to left field later, the umpire walked F3 to the dugout and told the coach he needed a sub.

robbie Mon May 02, 2011 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 754498)
I don't work NSA or keep up with their rules, so I will take you at your word. I do wonder, however, why in the world there would be such a rule.

Funny, I always thought it was a very strange ruling, but didn't know that it was unique to NSA. What make it more interesting, is that NSA's flaw is that they are usually "silent" on many situations and rare occurances, so to actually spell this out must have a story behind it.

FYI:
RULE 8, Sec. 5, b. Effect:1. "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner or if the batter-runner is obstructed before reaching 1st base, the ball is dead...."

Another interesting note is that it states ""If a play is being made on the obstructed runner...the ball is dead..." It does NOT say that the play must be AT THE TIME of the obstruction. In other words, as written, if a runner is obstructed say between 1st and 2nd and later D throws to 3B to attempt to retire that runner, you have a dead ball when the play is made.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1