The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 18, 2002, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Wink Don't have an ASA Rulebook Handy

Sorry, I don't have a ASA Rulebook Handy only my NCAA Rulebook. For the most part, they are the same.

It basically says that a basepath is defined as a direct line between the two bases. The runner shall be given 3 feet either way. The runner may run out of the basepath to avoid interfering with a fielder, the ball, or during her last stride to touch a base 165-166 Section 23. Further, the BR can only be cited for interference on the catch not the throw.

Nowhere "Catchability" mentioned.

A good catcher will notify 1st base by yelling "Inside" or "Outside" depending on the location of the ball and which "throwing lane" they are going to use.

If the catcher decides to throw-over the runner, then my partners better be getting ready for a play at 2nd because the ball is going into the outfield.

In this case, I believe that the rule was mis-applied.
__________________
We Don't Look for Problems.....They find Us.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1