The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 18, 2002, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
A fellow blue and I had a discussion on a play in his game on Saturday. Rec league, 14u, ASA rules.

The play: Less than two outs, 1st base unoccupied, catcher fails to catch strike three. BR takes off for first, catcher throws over F3's head and into right field. My buddy, who is working alone, calls the BR out for interference. His explanation is that she was running inside the foul line and affected the catchers throw to first base.

I believe that this was an incorrect interpretation of 8-2-E. The rule states that the BR cannot interfere with the fielder taking the throw. The rule does not mention the fielder making the throw. I contend that because F3 could not have caught the ball, no interference should be called. Had the throw hit the BR or had she blocked the view of F3 on a throw F3 had a chance to catch, then the interference call is appropriate.

What do you all think?
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1