The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Nov 14, 2002, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member

Since this was brought up in a thread below but was not the subject of the thread I thought that I would start a new one.

I always call the batter out on a caught 3rd strike; conversely, if the batter is not called out she better be running.

When the pitch comes in and the batter swings and misses, I have nothing to say. Instead, if it is in the zone, then I am going to call (probably forceably) "steeeryke."

THEN --- I am going to look into the glove for the ball; when I know that it is a legal catch I am going to call the batter out. And it if is not a legal catch, but runner at 1st etc., then I am still going to call it.

As a coach I taught my girls to come out of the box hard on a third strike (assuming no one on 1st, or 2 outs) and keep going until the umpire called her out. I don't think that the player should be looking around trying to determine if a legal catch was made. That is the umpire's job.

Your thoughts please.
Old Fri Nov 15, 2002, 12:21am
Official Forum Member

I never call the "batter out" unless she runs on a caught strike 3, or if she runs with 1B occupied and less than 2 outs.

I do have a "strike three" call that is different, but I never verbalize the "batter out" except as above.
Old Fri Nov 15, 2002, 03:59am
Official Forum Member

"I always call the batter out on a caught 3rd strike; conversely, if the batter is not called out she better be running.

When the pitch comes in and the batter swings and misses, I have nothing to say. Instead, if it is in the zone, then I am going to call (probably forceably) "steeeryke."