The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2002, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I would agree, Sam. But there's this "not over the batter's head" clause in both the ASA and the Fed definition. A ball bunted foul off to the side and caught meets their criteria for being a foul tip. A pitch that is over the batter's head and "tipped" into the catcher's glove does not fit their definition and therefore must be an out, even if it acts as if it never touched the bat at all. Without the "over the head" clause, I'd have no problem at all knowing a foul tip when I saw it.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1