Are you saying then that on a ground ball where a runner runs into a fielder while fielding the ball you're going to call that runner out for interference AND the BR out because the interference prevented a throw to first?
I'm not saying anything even remotely like that. We're talking about a play here that involved a fly ball, not a grounder.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
(Post 689880)
IMHO, the out for interference for causing the missed catch replaces the out for the catch. That player leaves and the BR goes to 1B.
Then your humble opinion is in direct conflict with what is printed in the ASA rule book.
JefferMC
Tue Aug 24, 2010 01:48pm
I'm sorry, yes, the exception applies. Let me get my head out of my... you know...