The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS question # 49 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58861-nfhs-question-49-a.html)

shipwreck Tue Aug 17, 2010 05:51pm

NFHS question # 49
 
49) A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred.

A. True
B. False YOUR ANSWER
Reference: 8-4-3b Pen a

I will stick by my guns that I got this one correct. The question is misleading.

Here is that rule reference. a. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction, a dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there not been obstruction. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed.

PSUchem Tue Aug 17, 2010 06:07pm

Not sure why you would think the answer false. Can you give a situation example?

Andy Tue Aug 17, 2010 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSUchem (Post 689009)
Not sure why you would think the answer false. Can you give a situation example?

I'm curious as well since the rule reference you cited reads almost verbatim to to the test question.....why is the question misleading?

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 17, 2010 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 689004)
49) A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred.

A. True
B. False YOUR ANSWER
Reference: 8-4-3b Pen a

I will stick by my guns that I got this one correct. The question is misleading.

Here is that rule reference. a. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction, a dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there not been obstruction. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed.

The answer IS true. Just because an umpire called an OBS runner out, doesn't mean that the runner is ruled out.

youngump Tue Aug 17, 2010 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSUchem (Post 689009)
Not sure why you would think the answer false. Can you give a situation example?

The runner is protected only to the previous base and we have an intervening play and then the tag.
________
Buy E Cigarette

RKBUmp Tue Aug 17, 2010 07:07pm

What intervening play are you thinking happened? Runner is protected between the 2 bases where the obstruction occured, not just the preceding base. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching either of the bases she was obstructed between, the ball is dead, runner to be placed at base in the umpire judgement they would have reached without the obstruction.

youngump Tue Aug 17, 2010 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 689017)
What intervening play are you thinking happened? Runner is protected between the 2 bases where the obstruction occured, not just the preceding base. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching either of the bases she was obstructed between, the ball is dead, runner to be placed at base in the umpire judgement they would have reached without the obstruction.

Wish my book were right but as I remember the wording:
A runner may be called out between the obstructed bases if they have achieved the base they would have without the obstruction and there has been a play on a different runner.

The way I have this in my head: R1 at 2nd, sharply hit ball to Center. BR is obstructed rounding first. Ball is thrown in to the cutoff and BR heads back to first. Throw goes home and runner tries to go to second. A play is made at the plate and then the ball is thrown back to 2nd where the runner is tagged out.
________
Harriet

shipwreck Tue Aug 17, 2010 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 689004)
49) A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred.

A. True
B. False YOUR ANSWER
Reference: 8-4-3b Pen a

I will stick by my guns that I got this one correct. The question is misleading.

Here is that rule reference. a. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction, a dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there not been obstruction. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed.

The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave

JEL Tue Aug 17, 2010 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 689026)
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave

Don't try and "overthink" those tests!

While you may consider it a misleading question, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred" is a true statement.

and


"A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" Is also a true statement.

RadioBlue Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 689026)
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave

Remember: an obstructed runner can NEVER be called out while between the bases where the runner was obstructed, even if you're only protecting her to the previous base. For instance, BR rounding 1st is obstructed by F3 and is tagged out while trying for 2nd base. You will rule a "dead ball" and return the BR to 1st.

As for the subsequent action play brought up earlier in this thread, if the obstructed runner has not reached any base in either direction, she is still between the bases which she was obstructed. Other playing action has no bearing on this fact. Once she touches the next and/or previous base, now she's lost that "between the bases" protection and is only granted protection to the base/bases she would have reached had their been no obstruction.

youngump Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RadioBlue (Post 689064)
Remember: an obstructed runner can NEVER be called out while between the bases where the runner was obstructed, even if you're only protecting her to the previous base. For instance, BR rounding 1st is obstructed by F3 and is tagged out while trying for 2nd base. You will rule a "dead ball" and return the BR to 1st.

As for the subsequent action play brought up earlier in this thread, if the obstructed runner has not reached any base in either direction, she is still between the bases which she was obstructed. Other playing action has no bearing on this fact. Once she touches the next and/or previous base, now she's lost that "between the bases" protection and is only granted protection to the base/bases she would have reached had their been no obstruction.

This is not how I understand it. If a runner is obstructed between 1st and 2nd, retreats to first and then goes to second they cannot be put out between those bases unless we have obstruction, interference or an intervening play. Similarly, if they were protected to second, reach second and think they need to tag up so they head back toward first, they are still protected unless we have one of those things.
________
HEADSHOPS

RadioBlue Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 689070)
This is not how I understand it. If a runner is obstructed between 1st and 2nd, retreats to first and then goes to second they cannot be put out between those bases unless we have obstruction, interference or an intervening play. Similarly, if they were protected to second, reach second and think they need to tag up so they head back toward first, they are still protected unless we have one of those things.

Under the Penalty portion to Rule 8-4-3(b) one of the exceptions states,
"When an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains or returns to
the base she would have been awarded, in the umpire's judgment, had there
been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the
obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where she was
obstructed and may be put out."


So, in your scenario, if the runner retreats to 1B and you were not protecting her to 2B, she's in jeapordy should she try to advance. Similarly, should she reach 2B and, for any reason, attempt to return to 1B, she is in jeapordy, as well.

You'll find what you're looking for on Pg. 62 of the 2010 Softball Rules book.

Hope that helps! :)

MD Longhorn Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 689026)
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave

Actually, the OP question is true, yours is not always true due to the exception for an intervening play.

youngump Wed Aug 18, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RadioBlue (Post 689087)
Under the Penalty portion to Rule 8-4-3(b) one of the exceptions states,
"When an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains or returns to
the base she would have been awarded, in the umpire's judgment, had there
been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the
obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where she was
obstructed and may be put out."


So, in your scenario, if the runner retreats to 1B and you were not protecting her to 2B, she's in jeapordy should she try to advance. Similarly, should she reach 2B and, for any reason, attempt to return to 1B, she is in jeapordy, as well.

You'll find what you're looking for on Pg. 62 of the 2010 Softball Rules book.

Hope that helps! :)

I hope this helps you then :-). Notice the And. If a runner is protected to second and reaches second and then retreats she is still protected. Unless there has been a subsequent play on a DIFFERENT runner.
________
Asiansweetpussy

youngump Wed Aug 18, 2010 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 689099)
Actually, the OP question is true, yours is not always true due to the exception for an intervening play.

I think you have that backwards. There is no case where an intervening play can allow a runner to be out before reaching the protected base. There is a case where an intervening play can allow them to be out between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
________
Herbalaire Vaporizers

MD Longhorn Wed Aug 18, 2010 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 689106)
I think you have that backwards. There is no case where an intervening play can allow a runner to be out before reaching the protected base. There is a case where an intervening play can allow them to be out between the bases where the obstruction occurred.

My bad - I'll go get more coffee now...

RadioBlue Wed Aug 18, 2010 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 689105)
I hope this helps you then :-). Notice the And. If a runner is protected to second and reaches second and then retreats she is still protected. Unless there has been a subsequent play on a DIFFERENT runner.

You know what? I think you're right. I don't know why, but I have misread and/or misinterpreted this for years. I stand corrected. Nice catch, YU!

Tex Fri Aug 20, 2010 06:00pm

Reading too much into the statement. The statement reads "A dead ball is called" . That is all there is. Statement does not asked what the call should be.

Remember "A dead ball is called".

Answer is True.

Skahtboi Sun Aug 22, 2010 01:43pm

From my reading, the OP should be true.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1