The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   [ASA Co-Ed] Dead Ball Appeal (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58785-asa-co-ed-dead-ball-appeal.html)

Stat-Man Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:43pm

[ASA Co-Ed] Dead Ball Appeal
 
Here is a situation from tonight's semifinal game:

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, 1 out.

Batter flies out to left field for second out. R1 advances to third and the relay from F7 to F5 is misplayed and trickles into dead ball territory. R1 is awarded home and R2 is awarded second since she stayed at first.

While R1 is halfway between 3rd and home, the umpire rules her out because the defense appealed her leaving early and he agrees.

Questions:
1) Shouldn't a dead ball appeal in this situation not be allowed until after all runners complete their baserunning?

2) If I had thought about it then (and not now), could I have told R1 to go back to third, then back to second, and then go to 3rd and home since the offense tipped their hand with a premature appeal? Or does ASA have wording that once a runner advances to a base passed the missed one, it's too late to correct?

While it did cost us a chance to win by the 12 run rule, we luckily still won. :)

NCASAUmp Wed Aug 04, 2010 05:57am

The umpire should have allowed the runners to complete their baserunning responsibilities. While it's unlikely that she would have corrected her mistake, the opportunity was still taken away from her while she was still in the process of running the bases.

I think the appeal was honored a little too early.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Aug 04, 2010 06:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 687817)
Here is a situation from tonight's semifinal game:

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, 1 out.

Batter flies out to left field for second out. R1 advances to third and the relay from F7 to F5 is misplayed and trickles into dead ball territory. R1 is awarded home and R2 is awarded second since she stayed at first.

That's wrong. R1 would have been awarded home anyway. R2 should have been awarded 3B.

Quote:

While R1 is halfway between 3rd and home, the umpire rules her out because the defense appealed her leaving early and he agrees.

Questions:
1) Shouldn't a dead ball appeal in this situation not be allowed until after all runners complete their baserunning?

2) If I had thought about it then (and not now), could I have told R1 to go back to third, then back to second, and then go to 3rd and home since the offense tipped their hand with a premautre appeal? Or does ASA have wording that once a runner advances to a base passed the missed one, it's too late to correct?
When did the umpire announce the awards? Where was R1 when the award was announced?
Quote:


While it did cost us a chance to win by the 12 run rule, we luckily still won. :)
What 12-run rule? :rolleyes: Must be a local thing or you meant the "10-run rule". ;)

NCASAUmp Wed Aug 04, 2010 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 687830)
What 12-run rule? :rolleyes: Must be a local thing or you meant the "10-run rule". ;)

We have a league here that still has the old "12 after 5" rule. I wish they'd get with the program, but every rule change has to be "voted in" by the players. :rolleyes:

CecilOne Wed Aug 04, 2010 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 687817)
R1 advances to third and the relay from F7 to F5 is misplayed and trickles into dead ball territory. R1 is awarded home and R2 is awarded second since she stayed at first.

Why was it ruled a lost possession when it reads like an overthrow? Or was it a rule mistake?

Stat-Man Wed Aug 04, 2010 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 687835)
Why was it ruled a lost possession when it reads like an overthrow? Or was it a rule mistake?

To answer some various questions:
  • Our league's run differential rule is 20 runs after 4 innings and 12 after 5.
  • R1 was at third base when the ball entered DBT.
  • I'm not 100% sure if the umpire awarded R2 second or third. That was lost in the confusion where our runner was called out before she reached home. The original fly out was out #2 and with the out on appeal being the third out, R2's position suddenly didn't matter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1