The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Aug 03, 2010, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member

Slappers

I am somewhat new to umpiring compared to may of my colleagues. I have done around 200 games so far and overall have enjoyed the experience.

My question is regarding slap hitters. How often is the rule enforced when the batters front plant foot is clearly out of the box and planted on the ground prior to making contact with the ball? I had my first instance where I called this last weekend in a local tournament and the offensive coach went nuts when I called the batter out for the infraction. He stated that nobody ever makes the call and that I should just let his girls play. I don’t think it helped that he was down by 9 runs either and was overall frustrated with the way his girls were playing.

How often do you make this call? Just curious.

Many Thanks
Old Tue Aug 03, 2010, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member

100% of the time we see it.

Sit down and think of a new line, coach.

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Old Tue Aug 03, 2010, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member

Well, consider all of the following:

1) for a batter to be out for contacting the ball while outside the box, the entire foot must be entirely outside the batters box AND contacting the ground at the moment the pitch is struck.
2) the batters box extends toward the pitcher considerably farther than most people think.
3) MOST of the time, by the 3rd batter, that box is gone, at least the top line.
4) when a pitch is coming in, what is PU looking at? Hopefully the ball itself.