The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Jul 26, 2010, 10:55am
Official Forum Member

In the zone...and then............

USSSA tournament this weekend. I have been umpiring for about 4 years. At an ASA tournament about a month ago I worked 4 games with a veteran umpire, Randy Gouday(?), NCAA, and while I'm a veteran, 65, I'm relatively new. He critiqued my game during the day for which I am very grateful. I thought I was a pretty good umpire but he showed me how to get better, changed my stance, working with coaches, etc.

Anyway, this weekend, for the first time, I was "in the zone" on Saturday. Saw every pitch, didn't miss a one (in my mind). Come Sunday, all of a sudden I seemed to be off. Worked hard to bring myself back and felt by the end of the game I'd got it back, mainly by reminding myself to concentrate on every pitch.

So, my question to you all. I'm sure you have been "in the zone", much like a batter who sees the ball as a big watermellon at times and a pea at other times. Batters do things to get them out of a slump. What are good tips to get an umpire out of a slump. "In the zone" is intoxicating.
Old Mon Jul 26, 2010, 11:04am
Official Forum Member

Much as a player in a slump, you start with the fundamentals. Speaking the ASA stance (and you can adapt to your stance), I ask myself:

1) Are you in the slot? Where is your nose (or ear)?
2) Do you have a solid heel-toe (GPA)?
3) Are you the correct distance from the catcher, so that she isn't blocking the zone?
4) Are your eyes set at the top of the zone (may be different for other stances)?
5) Are you setting early enough to see the pitch from release?
6) Are you in your routine (set, pitch call, step back, clear your head, reset, start again)?
7) Is your mind wandering? Concentrate, this is YOUR game.