The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Appeal Play question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58620-appeal-play-question.html)

justcallmeblue Sat Jul 17, 2010 06:51am

Appeal Play question
 
Dont have access to a rule book where I am for the weekend . . .help is appreciated. . . ASA RULESET. . .12U. . .

R1 on 2B. . .Initially, R1 fails to tag on a pop fly out. . . .finally she tags up and avances to 3B. I call TIME as thrid base was dislodged.

I am heading back to the plate and have not completely set up when the Pitcher in contact with rubber, throws the ball to 2B for an appeal called for by her coach. Pitcher overthrows 2B and runner on 3B advances to home.

I send the runner back to 3B because TIME had been called. . . .however, the coach argues TIME should be waived off when the pitcher took the mound and it should be a LIVE ball. Again, I was on my way back to the plate, mask in hand, checking the clicker. . .when the appeal was in motion.

Does the runner advance - is it a live ball??? where in the ruleset can I find it when I get back

txump81 Sat Jul 17, 2010 07:15am

Don't have an ASA ruleset, but I thought in all rulesets, the ball is not LIVE until the PU puts the ball back in play.

OBR 3.12 -- When the umpire suspends play, "Time" shall be called. At the umpire's call of "Play" the suspension is lifted and play resumes. Between the call of "Time" and the call of "Play" the ball is dead.

I would say you got it right.

BretMan Sat Jul 17, 2010 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue (Post 685768)
I send the runner back to 3B because TIME had been called. . . .however, the coach argues TIME should be waived off when the pitcher took the mound and it should be a LIVE ball.

Coach is an idiot.

And, apparently, oblivious to the rules about dead-ball appeals!

SRW Sat Jul 17, 2010 09:50am

YOU control the game, and when TIME is called... not the coach, and not the players.

ASA 10.4(A-I)

BretMan Sat Jul 17, 2010 02:40pm

Should have told him to file a protest that the "time out waive off rule" was not properly applied. :rolleyes:

greymule Sat Jul 17, 2010 05:49pm

Time isn't back in until you say it's in. While that might seem overly obvious, I've had to invoke that principle several times, especially in rec slow pitch (but also in FP), when the batter stepped in and the pitcher delivered while I was still returning to my position behind the plate.

HugoTafurst Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue (Post 685768)

(snip).however, the coach argues TIME should be waived off when the pitcher took the mound and it should be a LIVE ball.

(snip)
where in the ruleset can I find it when I get back

Either:
1) Politely tell the coach that TIME was and the ball was never put back into play.
End of conversation. Walk away.
or
2) Tell the coach to sit the ef down and shut up, the ball isn't live until you put it in play.:D

In either case: Keeping in mind that once YOU do put the ball in play, an appeal can be executed


No book with me here, either, but look up:
"Putting the ball in play".

The rule is pretty much the same in all codes, although the mechanics may differ slightly.
In NO case is the ball in play until YOU are ready.

justcallmeblue Sun Jul 18, 2010 09:23pm

thanks all for the reply. . .

Firstly, the coach's issue is that the Pitcher TOOK the mound and that in and of itself means that the ball is back in play.

My contention, as confirmed by the rulebook, is that since I called TIME (no matter where I was), that runners CANNOT advance until the next pitch. . . Even though she "took the mound" doesnt mean that time is in. . .it still means YOU CANNOT ADVANCE YOUR RUNNER. . .PERIOD. . . .

I know he will still disagree when I show him the rulebook. . . .I was hoping there was no over-ruling scenario and it seems there is not. . .

Once again THANKS

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jul 18, 2010 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue (Post 685874)
thanks all for the reply. . .

Firstly, the coach's issue is that the Pitcher TOOK the mound and that in and of itself means that the ball is back in play.

My contention, as confirmed by the rulebook, is that since I called TIME (no matter where I was), that runners CANNOT advance until the next pitch. . . Even though she "took the mound" doesnt mean that time is in. . .it still means YOU CANNOT ADVANCE YOUR RUNNER. . .PERIOD. . . .

I know he will still disagree when I show him the rulebook. . . .I was hoping there was no over-ruling scenario and it seems there is not. . .

Once again THANKS

How is he going to disagree when he is playing a softball game on a baseball field?

justcallmeblue Sun Jul 18, 2010 09:40pm

and now i lost the page I had marked. . .that said No runners shall advance untiil after the next pitch. . . .HELP before I go nuts!!!

HugoTafurst Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue (Post 685874)
thanks all for the reply. . .

Firstly, the coach's issue is that the Pitcher TOOK the mound and that in and of itself means that the ball is back in play.

My contention, as confirmed by the rulebook, is that since I called TIME (no matter where I was), that runners CANNOT advance until the next pitch. . . Even though she "took the mound" doesnt mean that time is in. . .it still means YOU CANNOT ADVANCE YOUR RUNNER. . .PERIOD. . . .

I know he will still disagree when I show him the rulebook. . . .I was hoping there was no over-ruling scenario and it seems there is not. . .

Once again THANKS

If you know he will still disagree when you show him the book, let it go.
Who cares what he thinks, he's wrong. - If he dosn't want to know that's his loss.

What level are we talking about anyway?

CecilOne Mon Jul 19, 2010 07:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685879)
How is he going to disagree when he is playing a softball game on a baseball field?

With a baseball mind. :)

CecilOne Mon Jul 19, 2010 07:42am

Originally Posted by justcallmeblue
... snip...
And, apparently, oblivious to the rules about dead-ball appeals!


Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 685838)
Either:
1) Politely tell the coach that TIME was and the ball was never put back into play.
End of conversation. Walk away.

In either case: Keeping in mind that once YOU do put the ball in play, an appeal can be executed

Also, if no TIME called, the throw to 2nd is a live ball appeal. The runner can advance and the unnecessary throw is on the coach.

HugoTafurst Mon Jul 19, 2010 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 685907)
Originally Posted by justcallmeblue
... snip...
And, apparently, oblivious to the rules about dead-ball appeals!




Also, if no TIME called, the throw to 2nd is a live ball appeal. The runner can advance and the unnecessary throw is on the coach.

1) But time WAS called (re-read post)
and
2) I think it was the offensive coach who was "discussing" :rolleyes: because he wanted his runner to score.

CecilOne Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 685915)
1) But time WAS called (re-read post)
and
2) I think it was the offensive coach who was "discussing" :rolleyes: because he wanted his runner to score.

Of course, just adding corollaries (if no TIME called). We seemed to have concluded the OP Q.
But observant on your part. :cool:

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 19, 2010 04:15pm

Contrary to what you might think, it's not your responsibility to go find a rule every time a coach disagrees with you, and present it to him upon the next meeting. If he wants to verify that he's right (he's not), then it's on him to attempt to do so. Let it go.

CecilOne Tue Jul 20, 2010 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 685999)
Contrary to what you might think, it's not your responsibility to go find a rule every time a coach disagrees with you, and present it to him upon the next meeting. If he wants to verify that he's right (he's not), then it's on him to attempt to do so. Let it go.

Yup. If a coach needs to learn a rule, there are three choices:
1) Look it up
2) Look it up
3) Look it up
Then, if s/he does all three, the next options are:
1) Ask an umpire :eek:
2) Learn to read my mind (where my rulebooks are) ;)
3) Keep being wrong :p
:D

Steve M Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:26am

While you're talking with this moron, I mean coach, ask him what he thinks the requirements are for the ball to be put in play.

Skahtboi Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:14am

WOW! With the various posts quoting OBR and talking about "taking the mound," I had to double check to make sure I was in the SOFTBALL forum!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1