The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Missed 1B - double 1B appeal? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58617-missed-1b-double-1b-appeal.html)

Stat-Man Sat Jul 17, 2010 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WestMichiganBlue (Post 685686)
Batted ball to F6, B-R dives in to 1B, touching the white bag with his hand, beating the throw.

While still laying on the ground and touching the base, the B-R is tagged by F3 who appeals for a missed base. B-R still has not touched the colored bag, but - OTOH - the appeal has to be made before the B-R returns to the bag.

So is he out - touching the white base is no different than being off the base returning from RF?

Or safe because it is too late to appeal?

WMB

I'm not an umpire (nor do I play one on TV :D), but my uneducated guess would be that since a play is being made at first, if F3 can tag the B/R before the B/R touches the safety portion of the base, the B/R is out.

I realize what ASA 8-2-M-3-Effect says, but seeing that the B/R must use the colored half of the base in this situation, touching the white base is the same as not actually touching the base.

Thoughts?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jul 17, 2010 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 685788)
I'm not an umpire (nor do I play one on TV :D),

But did you stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night? ;)

Dakota Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685778)
...You changed the scenario to the ball being in someone else's hands.

That matters? Why?

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685778)
...In SP, the PU should have declared "time" if there is no immediate action by the defense to make an appeal. Once the ball is dead and the runner is standing on the base, no appeal is available.

In FP, where you people insist on have a "live ball" game (which it really isn't),

Yadda, yadda,
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685778)
In FP, ... the appeal would have to be in a expeditious manner or I'm moving on with the game.

I agree, if by "expeditious manner" you mean time to determine no appeal is in the offing.

However, you based your original reply on the use of the words "passed" and "returned" in the rules. The meanings of those words do not change with time, so if the appeal is not made quickly, what did the runner do that invalidates the appeal made after the coach yells, ball thrown around, etc. (assuming we are talking that inconveniently live-ball game)?

Stat-Man Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685789)
But did you stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night? ;)

No, but I actually was looking up information on one, should I ever go vist an out of state friend since there is one within walking distance of their locale.

Does that count? :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1