The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58557-obstruction-question.html)

MountieSB Mon Jul 12, 2010 02:00pm

Big Slick
 
It was a game in PA under NFHS rules. We didn't call an interpreter because it didn't affect the outcome of the game and we were satisfied with the original call. This was just talk we had after the game wondering if anything else could be called.

Are you a rules interpreter? If so, what call would you make? Thanks!

Mike

Big Slick Mon Jul 12, 2010 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MountieSB (Post 685145)
It was a game in PA under NFHS rules. We didn't call an interpreter because it didn't affect the outcome of the game and we were satisfied with the original call. This was just talk we had after the game wondering if anything else could be called.

Are you a rules interpreter? If so, what call would you make? Thanks!

Mike

Mike, my first reaction to the video was "absolutely two outs." Then I watched it again, and started talking myself out of it, as you rarely see two outs with this type of interference. But I watched it a few more times (actually while discussing with another forum member), and I am leaning towards also calling the BR out (meaning I would need more information to call the second out).

I think you should run this by the rules interpreter in your district. I have heard he enjoys rule discussions (especially if there are refreshing, frosty adult beverages).

Steve M Mon Jul 12, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 685157)
Mike, my first reaction to the video was "absolutely two outs." Then I watched it again, and started talking myself out of it, as you rarely see two outs with this type of interference. But I watched it a few more times (actually while discussing with another forum member), and I am leaning towards also calling the BR out (meaning I would need more information to call the second out).

I think you should run this by the rules interpreter in your district. I have heard he enjoys rule discussions (especially if there are refreshing, frosty adult beverages).


We always see things more clearly with those refreshing, frosty adult beverages.

Big Slick Mon Jul 12, 2010 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 685160)
We always see things more clearly with those refreshing, frosty adult beverages.

Steve, I don't think I said that the rules interpreter has better or clearer ruling when he is enjoying a "cold one"; I just know he likes to discuss rules and beverages. Wasn't this the same guy that provided you with post game refreshment (at least that's what I heard)?

Steve M Mon Jul 12, 2010 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Slick (Post 685162)
Steve, I don't think I said that the rules interpreter has better or clearer ruling when he is enjoying a "cold one"; I just know he likes to discuss rules and beverages. Wasn't this the same guy that provided you with post game refreshment (at least that's what I heard)?


Slick,
I didn't recognize the field, so I don't know who that interpreter is just yet.
Now you didn't say that we see more clearly in those discusion while having a cold one - I did. There's an awful lot of talking during those discussions, so I usually need one or two or more.
"Wasn't this the same guy that provided you with post game refreshment (at least that's what I heard)?" Could be - there have been a few who kindly shared. And it's always much appreciated.

CecilOne Mon Jul 12, 2010 03:06pm

After watching the video, the fielder apparently has the ball before the contact. The runner is therefore tagged out with the fielder knocked down in the process.
I don't see the "runner has to go poof" theory, so unless the runner was judged to do something intentional or malicious, no call but the runner out.

Q: Is she a retired runner as the knock down came after the tag?

MountieSB Mon Jul 12, 2010 04:10pm

Big Slick!
 
If you're who I think you are, then 1. You're my favorite rules interpeter, and 2. I DO know that you like a cold, frosty one (while discussing rules, of course!). How was the DII world series?

Mike

blue man Mon Jul 12, 2010 04:44pm

I have a double play on this one. R1 has the option to stop, go in front or behind 2b player. Not through her. R1 brought her arms up into her chest which tells me she knew there was going to be a collision.
The BR was only six steps out of the box when the collision took place. It looks to me like there was lots of time to turn the double.
I am not going to penalize the defense (only take one out) when the offense is clearly at fault.

Paul

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 12, 2010 05:11pm

Based solely on the video, I have a catch and tag out.

I see no interference unless there was another runner out there that the SS could have retired had the runner not crashed into her.

Dakota Mon Jul 12, 2010 05:20pm

The runner had plenty of time to go "poof"... i.e. avoid the fielder, since the runner was 5 running stride steps from the fielder as she was moving to catch the popup. She chose to plough into the fielder rather than run behind her.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 12, 2010 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 685188)
The runner had plenty of time to go "poof"... i.e. avoid the fielder, since the runner was 5 running stride steps from the fielder as she was moving to catch the popup. She chose to plough into the fielder rather than run behind her.

Coaching issue. This is what happens when you direct players to do specific things instead of playing the game.

Don't watch the ball, just run to the base, Don't look at the runner, just throw the BR out at 1st, etc.

youngump Mon Jul 12, 2010 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685187)
Based solely on the video, I have a catch and tag out.

I see no interference unless there was another runner out there that the SS could have retired had the runner not crashed into her.

Just to make sure I understand, you have no interference because the tag came before the collision, right? And then you may have interference depending solely on whether there was another play to be made and if there was you'd be taking the lead runner?

(Tangentially, I wish there were more of these posted to look at)
________
Avandia Lawsuit

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 685192)
Just to make sure I understand, you have no interference because the tag came before the collision, right? And then you may have interference depending solely on whether there was another play to be made and if there was you'd be taking the lead runner?

Okay, sounds right. Basically, if the batter is out on the catch and the runner out on the tag, what else is there with which to interfere other than another runner?

PSUchem Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 685222)
Okay, sounds right. Basically, if the batter is out on the catch and the runner out on the tag, what else is there with which to interfere other than another runner?

I think a lot of us (myself included, until I watched the video again) missed the fact that this is not a pop-up/fly ball. It was a hard chop near the plate.

Dakota Tue Jul 13, 2010 07:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSUchem (Post 685224)
I think a lot of us (myself included, until I watched the video again) missed the fact that this is not a pop-up/fly ball. It was a hard chop near the plate.

Huh! Whaddayaknow.... I certainly missed that... :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1