![]() |
Tagging Up
ASA, NSA or USSSA rules. Posted from another forum. What say you all?
Quote:
|
Need more info. Where was the first step after touching the plate?
|
So the fly is huge enough to the infield that the runner can run home, score and then walk back to third base before the ball is caught? My question would be how do you keep the ball from burning up on re-entry?
|
Quote:
1 - The runner runs home, touches it, and immediately heads back towards 3B and NOT the dugout. 2 - The runner runs home, touches it, and immediately walks towards his team's 3B dugout. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Anyone not using a cane can run one base while a normal IFF is in the air. |
Pretty sure the umpire needs to judge intent on this one. From the OP's description, "walk back towards third" could be judged as retreating back to third base, so she better get back there or touch home again.
I personally doubt this was a player's question. Sounds more like something a rat coach would try. |
Obviously a good question since there are 6 replies and not even close to an answer.......
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
How can you answer a question without all the data? But if you want an answer, here it is. If, IMJ, the runner is returning to 3B, he needs to retouch home or have turned directly TOWARD 3B to remain immune from an appeal at the plate. If, IMJ, the runner touched the plate and started directly to return to 3B, he has placed himself in jeopardy to be retired. Now comes the argument that once a runner has scored, the run has scored. Okay, I can buy that. However, if that is your belief, you must hold that a runner which touches home can never return, yet the rules clearly state that they may. Hmmmm.....where do we go now? |
Quote:
Do (should) the various softball codes have the same? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
you should check for a shaved bat.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am. |