![]() |
Tagging Up
ASA, NSA or USSSA rules. Posted from another forum. What say you all?
Quote:
|
Need more info. Where was the first step after touching the plate?
|
So the fly is huge enough to the infield that the runner can run home, score and then walk back to third base before the ball is caught? My question would be how do you keep the ball from burning up on re-entry?
|
Quote:
1 - The runner runs home, touches it, and immediately heads back towards 3B and NOT the dugout. 2 - The runner runs home, touches it, and immediately walks towards his team's 3B dugout. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Anyone not using a cane can run one base while a normal IFF is in the air. |
Pretty sure the umpire needs to judge intent on this one. From the OP's description, "walk back towards third" could be judged as retreating back to third base, so she better get back there or touch home again.
I personally doubt this was a player's question. Sounds more like something a rat coach would try. |
Obviously a good question since there are 6 replies and not even close to an answer.......
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
How can you answer a question without all the data? But if you want an answer, here it is. If, IMJ, the runner is returning to 3B, he needs to retouch home or have turned directly TOWARD 3B to remain immune from an appeal at the plate. If, IMJ, the runner touched the plate and started directly to return to 3B, he has placed himself in jeopardy to be retired. Now comes the argument that once a runner has scored, the run has scored. Okay, I can buy that. However, if that is your belief, you must hold that a runner which touches home can never return, yet the rules clearly state that they may. Hmmmm.....where do we go now? |
Quote:
Do (should) the various softball codes have the same? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
you should check for a shaved bat.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the ball is caught the runner has to retouch or be out on appeal. Why would it be an advantage to run to the next base and back? Or did you not understand what I said in the post (So if the fly is caught and you need to tag the run was not legally scored so you can retreat). |
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA;683488]Then you have never seen Mike Schmidt hit. There is speculation that some of his pop-ups traveled just as far as his HR, just more vertical :D
LOL, Well, actually I have seen him hit. I grew up in Pittsburgh so any time Mike popped up, no matter how high it went, we were happy. And if you substitute Willie Stargell for Mike, then I've seen some towering pop-ups, but I still doubt that I saw any with a 8+ second hang time. I'll butt out, since Irish is right that this is about the rules not the physics. I really enjoy reading this forum - all of y'all have taught me a lot - thanks! |
[quote=hit4power;683501]
Quote:
|
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA;683506]
Quote:
|
Quote:
So consider a "normal" short fly to right - a speedster could easily sprint home and get back close enough to 3rd that he couldn't be thrown out by the right fielder. |
Quote:
|
(assuming this is the proper interp of the rule... of which, I'm still not convinced.)
I'm not convinced, either, but I can think of two plays on which I'd want to rule differently, though the same principle is involved. Play 1. Runner on 3B breaks for home on a suicide squeeze. The batter missed the signal and swings, hitting a high pop in the infield. The runner's momentum takes him to the plate, but after he touches he scrambles back toward 3B and is most of the way there when the ball drops untouched and fair. The runner slides back into 3B. Play 2. Same but the batter hits a soft liner that F9 charges and has a chance to catch. The runner, after touching home, retreats toward 3B for a few steps and then F9 traps the ball. The runner, not sure whether the ball was caught, continues back to 3B and then learns the ball was trapped. I'm confident that the run should score in Play 2, and since Play 1 is the same in principle, the run should score there, too. However, I admit that if Play 1 happened to me, I'd probably keep the runner at 3B (and find out later that I had erred). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am. |