The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   DP Question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58461-dp-question.html)

txtrooper Tue Jun 22, 2010 07:45pm

DP Question
 
ASA Rule 4 Section 3 A, States that a DP may be used for any player provided it is made known prior to the start of the game and the player is indicated in the line-up as one of the nine in the original batting order.

Does the team Manager/Coach have to tell the PU that the DP will play defense, during the line-up card inspection, at the plate meeting? I recently worked a tournament and the UIC brought this up to me. I want to know how you all interpret this rule. I was under the impression that when the DP and FLEX were listed on the line-up that the DP was eligible to play defense, without it being said at the plate.

Steve M Tue Jun 22, 2010 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by txtrooper (Post 682910)
Rule 4 Section 3 A, States that a DP may be used for any player provided it is made known prior to the start of the game and the player is indicated in the line-up as one of the nine in the original batting order.

Does the team Manager/Coach have to tell the PU that the DP will play defense, during the line-up card inspection, at the plate meeting? I recently worked a tournament and the UIC brought this up to me. I want to know how you all interpret this rule. I was under the impression that when the DP and FLEX were listed on the line-up that the DP was eligible to play defense, without it being said at the plate.

Whether "required" or not depends on the sanctioning body and what position the DP is playing defensively. Even where it is not required, it is expected that a coach will let the PU know when a change has been made. I'm using "required" to indicate that there is a penalty or potential penalty when not reported. Now, why wouldn't you report the change of having your DP play defense for somebody other than the Flex?

Skahtboi Tue Jun 22, 2010 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by txtrooper (Post 682910)
ASA Rule 4 Section 3 A, States that a DP may be used for any player provided it is made known prior to the start of the game and the player is indicated in the line-up as one of the nine in the original batting order.

Does the team Manager/Coach have to tell the PU that the DP will play defense, during the line-up card inspection, at the plate meeting? I recently worked a tournament and the UIC brought this up to me. I want to know how you all interpret this rule. I was under the impression that when the DP and FLEX were listed on the line-up that the DP was eligible to play defense, without it being said at the plate.

Listing the DP/FLEX on the lineup card IS making it known prior to the start of the game. I do not need, nor expect a verbal confirmation (nor do I think the rule writers intended this) except when I hand the lineup back to the coach to make sure that it is exactly as they want it to be, all numbers, positions...etc. properly listed.

After I have reviewed the lineup cards and accepted them, making them official, I will always ask the coaches if there are any changes that they would like to make to their lineup at that time. Most coaches give me that deer in the headlights look, but once in a while I will get one that will say something along the lines of, "yes, my FLEX is going in to bat for my DP."

The purpose of the rule stating that it has to be "made known" prior to the start of the game is simple. You cannot change your mind mid game and decide that you suddenly want to use the DP/FLEX in your lineup.

CecilOne Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 682921)
= "yes, my FLEX is going in to pitch for my DP."

? ? :confused:

vcblue Wed Jun 23, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 683003)
? ? :confused:

I think he ment, "yes, my flex is going in to bat for my DP. This is done at higher level ball, and if you Google "how to use DP/Flex" you will find out why.

Skahtboi Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vcblue (Post 683027)
I think he ment, "yes, my flex is going in to bat for my DP. This is done at higher level ball, and if you Google "how to use DP/Flex" you will find out why.


Yep, I did. I will change it now.

txtrooper Mon Jul 05, 2010 07:43pm

Thanks for the input, I did not believe the UIC'S interpretation of this rule was correct and wanted to bounce it off you all.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1