The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Cool Boo

ASA - I'm calling the plate. For shortness I'll use numbers.
B1 bats and gets on 1st. B3 bats and strikes out. B4 comes to the box and HC calls time and requests BOO rule. I whip out my handy-dandy lineup cards and sure enough we have a BOO. I call B2 out for the second out and tell VC to put B3 back in the box. VC wants to protest. I inform the HC that the VC is protesting. B3 strikes out again to end the inning. game continues and the visiting team wins by 3.

I did not hear back from the committee so I guess I was upheld.

I have checked the rules and as far as I can determine I did it correctly. Any one have any comments?
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
In ASA, B2 is out for BOO, B3's out stands, and B4 should have batted. HC should have protested because you removed another out. Not sure why VC protested?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
PSU is correct, but I'm left wondering why you let B3 bat again even though you apparently let her initial strikeout stand. I've never been involved in a protest, but IMO since B4 should have been the correct batter, the protest would have been upheld had the visiting team lost the game.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
ASA Rule 7-2-c-exception: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time a bat... skip that player...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Charlie, I know that you work high school ball here in Ohio. Your call would have been correct under NFHS rules- IF you would have negated B3's first strike out and cancelled her "first" out, which it sounds like you didn't do.

Your final call enforced some sort of hybrid combination of the FED rule and the ASA rule that isn't correct for either one!

As pointed out, the ASA rule is a little bit different. The out made by an improper batter stands. Her at-bat is official. Since she is the next batter in the line-up, but her at-bat has been completed, the next proper batter should be B4.

This is one of those nagging rule differences that we get to deal with. It doesn't help matters that the BOO rule is a full page long and has many twists and turns to begin with. When you factor in that it's a rule we rarely deal with on the field, not really getting much chance to wrap our minds around all the in's and out's in a practical "real world" situation, it makes it easy to miss one of these nagging points.

By the way, the reason you never heard anything back about the protest is probably because the protesting team won the game. When that happens, the protest is moot and ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
ASA, Fed, and NCAA all treat BOO differently.

As previous posters have noted, in the OP, ASA would have B3's out stand and B2 out for failing to bat in the proper order. B3 is skipped over, and B4 bats. However, if B4 had batted instead of B2 and struck out, then B4's strikeout would stand, B2 would be out, and B3 would bat followed by B4 (batting for the second time in the inning).

In ASA, it is never to the disadvantage of the defense to appeal BOO. In NCAA (which follows OBR) and Fed, there are situations in which it's better not to appeal.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
ASA, Fed, and NCAA all treat BOO differently.

As previous posters have noted, in the OP, ASA would have B3's out stand and B2 out for failing to bat in the proper order. B3 is skipped over, and B4 bats. However, if B4 had batted instead of B2 and struck out, then B4's strikeout would stand, B2 would be out, and B3 would bat followed by B4 (batting for the second time in the inning).
No, I believe in ASA, a batter who has made an out would not be provided the opportunity to make another out in the same inning until the other 8/9 batters have had an equal opportunity.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sun May 23, 2010 at 12:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 05:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Charlie, I know that you work high school ball here in Ohio. Your call would have been correct under NFHS rules- IF you would have negated B3's first strike out and cancelled her "first" out, which it sounds like you didn't do.

Your final call enforced some sort of hybrid combination of the FED rule and the ASA rule that isn't correct for either one!

As pointed out, the ASA rule is a little bit different. The out made by an improper batter stands. Her at-bat is official. Since she is the next batter in the line-up, but her at-bat has been completed, the next proper batter should be B4.

This is one of those nagging rule differences that we get to deal with. It doesn't help matters that the BOO rule is a full page long and has many twists and turns to begin with. When you factor in that it's a rule we rarely deal with on the field, not really getting much chance to wrap our minds around all the in's and out's in a practical "real world" situation, it makes it easy to miss one of these nagging points.

By the way, the reason you never heard anything back about the protest is probably because the protesting team won the game. When that happens, the protest is moot and ignored.
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
The out made by B3 stands in ASA and does not in NFHS.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
No, another difference is that in NFHS, B3's initial strikeout would be negated, and there would only be one out on B2 being skipped. In ASA, B2 would be out for being skipped, and B3's strikeout would stand for a total of two outs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1