![]() |
Question on NCAA 10.2.3
PITCHING PROCEDURE
10.2 Taking the signal from the catcher 10.2.3 After receiving the catcher's signal, the pitcher's hands must come together in view of the plate umpire for not more than five seconds. Note: The hands do not have to come to a complete stop and, therefore, may be moving during the touch. EFFECT-A ball is awarded to the batter. My question....why is this not called an illegal pitch, as are other violations of the PITCHING PROCEDURE? Book states: EFFECT (10.2.1-10.2.2)-Illegal pitch. If there's an obvious answer/reason/logic as to why it is not called an illegal pitch...I don't see it. Please point out to me what I'm missing here. Thanks. |
Quote:
|
i.e. it is the analogue of the batter getting a strike for not taking her position in the batter's box.
|
Quote:
Got it. Now it makes sense to me. Thanks for clarifying. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25am. |