The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   the hijacked portion of overrunning 1B and missing the base... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/56630-hijacked-portion-overrunning-1b-missing-base.html)

IRISHMAFIA Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump (Post 654701)
There we go! Gettin' half drunk is just wasting your money.

I had a family reunion over in Alabama, 'twixt Selma and Prattville, and I showed up with one of those fancy beers that you by by the six pack instead of by the case. My relatives took no pitty. "Don't be coming in here with no sippin' beer."

But, at least, you were stuck drinking Dixie!

Andy Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 654411)
Can you tell me where it says that a dead ball appeal is not allowed on the BR missing 1B? The likelihood of this happening during a game situation is EXTREMELY unlikely, I know, but I don't see where it says that it's not allowed. Personally, if there's a potential appeal, I'll let it play out and not call "time."

Rules Supplement #1, section L. Missing First Base Before the Throw Arrives: When a runner passes first base before the throw arrives, they are considered to have touched the base unless properly appealed. On appeals involving the double base, when the batter-runner touches the white rather than the contrasting colored portion and a play is made, the same procedure applies. When an appeal is made in both situations, it must be made prior to the runner returning to first base while the ball is live. (emphasis mine)

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
...However, if BR instead turns and safely reaches second base (on an overthrow, for example) without returning to touch first, then a dead ball appeal would be available, and could be honored.

Thank you for pointing out the situation where a dead ball appeal is available, but the OP implied the "usual" play of the B/R missing first and returning.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
..Guess if I had digressed on some discussion about beer or cigars, it might have been better received.

As you can see, beer related hijacks are almost always appropriate! :D

Stevetheump Mon Jan 25, 2010 05:54pm

Depends on the type of appeal (ASA)..........
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 654351)
Had this in another thread where it was dissed as being not part of the original post. Guess if I had digressed on some discussion about beer or cigars, it might have been better received. :rolleyes:

Anyhoos:

When a runner misses 1B and overruns, we call safe or out depending on where the runner was when the fielder received the throw. This is an appeal by the defense and must be done before the runner gets back to the base.

A lot of times F3 [or F4 covering 1B in bunt situations] will not realize the runner missed the base. Often times, the runner does realize s/he missed the base. Some runners are blatantly obvious in their attempt to get back, some are blatantly oblivious, some are very cool about it hoping no one noticed.

The question after all this is can anyone on the defense appeal the runner missing the base? Different for ASA/NFHS?

On a routine play, F1 or F4 may be in the best situation to see this [if they actually pay attention]. If they yell out "she missed the base!" do we accept the appeal as such, or must the runner be physically tagged?

Tru - In ASA:
A. A "live ball" appeal can be made "by any FIELDER in possession of the ball touching the base missed.....or by tagging the runner committing the violation if they are still on the field."
B. A "dead ball" appeal: "Any INFIELDER, with or without the ball, may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1