The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2002, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 13
Question

A few years ago I had an illegal pitch called
againsed me in a slow pitch softball playoff
game that, if I interpret the rules correctly,
shouldn't have been called. Upon reading the
rules on pitching (ASA slow pitch) I discovered
(or so I thought) that the pitcher DOESN'T
have to step TOWARDS home plate while releasing
the ball. I decided to incorporate a pitch
that I released while stepping BACKWARDS
(keeping contact with the rubber) into my
repertoire. I used it about 3 times a game
for a few games with good results and no
warnings. Then, in a playoff game, the plate
Ump calls it an illegal pitch. He said that
it "would be legal if I threw ALL my pitches
like that but since I started the game stepping
forward it would be considered deception and
therefore was illegal." Was that a correct call?
(I haven't played slow pitch since so I haven't
needed to resolve this issue until now)
__________________
JW NJ
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1