The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   must obstructed runner physically touch base? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/56237-must-obstructed-runner-physically-touch-base.html)

Tru_in_Blu Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:56am

must obstructed runner physically touch base?
 
I'm recalling a play from last season and I'd like some inputs.

ASA 16U. I'm Plate Umpire in a 2-man game.

Two outs, R1 on 1B. B2 hits a liner that splits F7 and F8 and rolls to the fence. R1 is attempting to score. F2 is positioned in the basepath, about 12 feet up the line from HP. The relay throw is slightly inside the baseline and as F2 reaches for it, R1 slides into F2. The balls bounces off F2's glove about 4 feet towards the pitcher's circle.

At this point, I raised my left arm and verbalized "Obstruction!"

Meanwhile, B2 had rounded 2B and saw the ball get away from F2 and headed for 3B. F2 retrieved the ball and fired to F5. B2 was safe on a close play, which was called by BU who had properly trailed the play.

After F2 made the throw to F5, R1 got up and proceeded directly to her dugout on the 3B side of the field. She never did touch HP.

So now the dust has settled a bit, I call time out and both coaches approached me to figure out what had happened. I explained that I called obstruction of F2 for blocking the basepath without possession of the ball, and that the runner was awarded home. Of course the defense didn't care for that call and we danced around on that one for a while.

The Offensive coach then asked me if the run counts. Knowing that the runner never physically touched HP, I responded again by saying that the runner was awarded home. In the back of my mind, I'm wondering if the Defense will respond by appealing the runner missing the plate.

It basically ended there, and both coaches went back to their dugouts/buckets. And I'm thinking "let's get by the next pitch"!

So my questions:
1) Did R1, by leaving the field of play after the obstruction call, forfeit her right to come back onto the field and physically touch HP? Could she have come out of the dugout, walked over to HP and stepped on it legally?
2) Had the defense appealed prior to the next pitch, would R1 be out on appeal?
3) If the throw from F2 had sailed into left field and B2 scored, would 2 runs score? I.E. If defense appealed R1 missed HP, as the third out, subsequent run(s) would not count? Or, after the play, R1 could not go back to touch HP after a subsequent runner had scored?

I talked to a couple of other umps after the game. One of them was adamant that I should have killed the play at the point of obstruction. I maintained that the call is a delayed dead ball and while other action is going on, the play is still live. Another guy said that the runner is assumed to have touched the base so the run scores. He didn't seem to understand my question on the potential subsequent defensive appeal for missing HP.

Thanx for your interpretations.

robbie Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:19pm

In NSA it is a dead ball. Yes, in general a Delayed dead ball, but immediately dead if a play is being made on the obstructed runner.

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jan 04, 2010 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by robbie (Post 648263)
In NSA it is a dead ball. Yes, in general a Delayed dead ball, but immediately dead if a play is being made on the obstructed runner.

I cannot dispute NSA rulings. However, in ASA (original post), NFHS, and NCAA, the ball remains live with a delayed dead ball UNLESS the obstructed runner is otherwise out when played on while still protected. ASA citation 8.5-B, R/S 36, NFHS 8-4-3(b), NCAA 9.3.

Otherwise:

In ASA, the obstructed runner can be called out for missing a base, despite the obstruction, if properly appealed (8-5.B(1) Exception d Effect, R/S 36). The runner entering dead ball territory ends any opportunity to legally return, as would a succeeding runner scoring.

Dakota Mon Jan 04, 2010 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 648259)
...F2 is positioned in the basepath, about 12 feet up the line from HP....R1 slides into F2...R1 got up and proceeded directly to her dugout on the 3B side of the field. She never did touch HP....

OK, we have a runner proceeding most of the way home, and then diverting directly into her dugout without ever passing home (8-3-B states, "When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched that base. This also applies to awarded bases."). Since the runner did not pass home, she is not considered to have touched it.

Being obstructed does not relieve the runner of the obligation to properly run the bases. (8-5-B-NOTE1)

So, why isn't this runner merely declared out? (8-7-U)

robbie Mon Jan 04, 2010 02:03pm

I like that difference in the other rule sets.

NSA states:

"If a play is being made on the obstructed runner or if the batter-runner is obstructed before reaching 1st base, the ball is dead........"

This always leads to a question when taking the rule as written:

Lets say the runner is obstructed between 1B and 2B, and later a play is made on the runner at home plate. By the letter of this rule, there would be a dead ball because a play is being made on an obstructed runner.

I bekieve the rule should probably read: "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner WHILE BEING OBSTRUCTED, .........."

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jan 04, 2010 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 648292)
OK, we have a runner proceeding most of the way home, and then diverting directly into her dugout without ever passing home (8-3-B states, "When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched that base. This also applies to awarded bases."). Since the runner did not pass home, she is not considered to have touched it.

Being obstructed does not relieve the runner of the obligation to properly run the bases. (8-5-B-NOTE1)

So, why isn't this runner merely declared out? (8-7-U)

In my opinion, 8.7-U doesn't apply. It says runners are out if they abandon a base and leaves live ball territory; what base was abandoned? If the intent of the rule was to call out any runner that left the field and abandoned any effort to run the bases, wouldn't it say that? Could we assume the exact limitation of "abandon a base" was intended? Since the runner did not walk off a base into the dead ball territory, no base was abandoned, just the effort to legally advance.

A second line of discussion may turn this into a major circle-jerk. Suppose you DID invoke 8.7-U, and ruled the runner out for abandoning. Would you not then be required to award the same runner home, since abandoning a base is not one of the specificly listed exceptions to not being called out between the bases under 8.5-B(1)??

Third line of discussion; the intent of the obstruction rule is to negate the improper actions of the defense which impeded the runner. The exceptions to that protection are obvious baserunning violations, if not blatent efforts to supercede appropriate results using "protection". Here is a case where you could almost certainly conclude that the runner truly believed she is awarded home, and doesn't realize she still needs to touch that base. Since the defense violated, wouldn't it be most appropriate to require their proper appeal to retain any advantage gained from their obstruction?

Fourth line; your reference to 8.3-B quoted "When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched the base." The rule goes further to add "This also applies to awarded bases." When the delayed dead ball is called, you have effectively awarded the runner protection; either home, or can't be out, so back to third. Softball doesn't use the baseball designations of gross miss versus passing and missing; the only place for the runner after home is the dugout. You could equally argue that not touching home, but going to the dugout constitutes passing the base; is a runner passing solely based on what side of the field her dugout is situated? Do we penalize her for being in the 3rd base dugout, but require a different action if she runs to the 1st base dugout? Taken to an extreme; R1 on 1st, leaves on hit, which is caught for an out, the attempt to double off R1 is thrown into dead ball territory. Umpire properly awards 3rd; R1 cuts across the infield directly to third base. On a proper appeal, would you then refuse to call R1 out under the only applicable rule (8.3-B) because R1 didn't "pass" 2nd??

For all the above reasons (some more pointed than others), this is an appeal play to me.

Dakota Mon Jan 04, 2010 03:29pm

Steve,

In your first line of discussion, suppose there were no obstruction, merely a runner trotting toward home. If she decides to not proceed to home but to just divert into her dugout, would you not invoke 8-7-U? The gross miss vs. pass & miss (line of discussion 4) would mean that no active runner can EVER have 8-7-U invoked, only one who is not active and merely leaves her base. Would you apply this to a BR also?

I like #2 due to the discussion that could ensue. If entering the dugout takes away the runner right to touch home, but you have now declared her out, but that is not one of the exceptions for obstruction, so you now award home, a base she is not legally entitled to touch... ;)

HugoTafurst Mon Jan 04, 2010 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 648310)
In my opinion, 8.7-U doesn't apply. It says runners are out if they abandon a base and leaves live ball territory; what base was abandoned? If the intent of the rule was to call out any runner that left the field and abandoned any effort to run the bases, wouldn't it say that? Could we assume the exact limitation of "abandon a base" was intended? Since the runner did not walk off a base into the dead ball territory, no base was abandoned, just the effort to legally advance.

A second line of discussion may turn this into a major circle-jerk. Suppose you DID invoke 8.7-U, and ruled the runner out for abandoning. Would you not then be required to award the same runner home, since abandoning a base is not one of the specificly listed exceptions to not being called out between the bases under 8.5-B(1)??

Third line of discussion; the intent of the obstruction rule is to negate the improper actions of the defense which impeded the runner. The exceptions to that protection are obvious baserunning violations, if not blatent efforts to supercede appropriate results using "protection". Here is a case where you could almost certainly conclude that the runner truly believed she is awarded home, and doesn't realize she still needs to touch that base. Since the defense violated, wouldn't it be most appropriate to require their proper appeal to retain any advantage gained from their obstruction?

Fourth line; your reference to 8.3-B quoted "When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched the base." The rule goes further to add "This also applies to awarded bases." When the delayed dead ball is called, you have effectively awarded the runner protection; either home, or can't be out, so back to third. Softball doesn't use the baseball designations of gross miss versus passing and missing; the only place for the runner after home is the dugout. You could equally argue that not touching home, but going to the dugout constitutes passing the base; is a runner passing solely based on what side of the field her dugout is situated? Do we penalize her for being in the 3rd base dugout, but require a different action if she runs to the 1st base dugout? Taken to an extreme; R1 on 1st, leaves on hit, which is caught for an out, the attempt to double off R1 is thrown into dead ball territory. Umpire properly awards 3rd; R1 cuts across the infield directly to third base. On a proper appeal, would you then refuse to call R1 out under the only applicable rule (8.3-B) because R1 didn't "pass" 2nd??

For all the above reasons (some more pointed than others), this is an appeal play to me.


You are so effin reasonable, it's sickening.....:eek:

BTW, that would be the way I would rule (until over-ruled by a legal protest that was administered by someone who sees it the other way)

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jan 04, 2010 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 648310)

For all the above reasons (some more pointed than others), this is an appeal play to me.

http://www.ultimatemyspace.com/userp...s/ggg_3226.gif

What he said!

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jan 04, 2010 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 648347)

And I didn't even use (but considered using) your favorite point on my example of missing without passing a base that the book doesn't state what the proper order of touching bases must be!!

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jan 04, 2010 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 648353)
And I didn't even use (but considered using) your favorite point on my example of missing without passing a base that the book doesn't state what the proper order of touching bases must be!!

As a catcher, I picked up a little trick from another guy. It worked occasionally.

If a runner was coming home and there was no play, I would pick up the bat, hand it to the approaching runner a few steps up the line (but never between him and the plate) with a comment of some type like "nice hit". Every now and then, the runner would take the bat, say thanks and head toward the dugout without touching the plate. Once the runner stepped into the dugout, I would asked for a missed base appeal.

As you pointed out, the runner did not actually abandon a base, just forgot to touch one.

OTOH, if the runner had touched the plate on the way to 1B..........

DeRef Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 648366)
As you pointed out, the runner did not actually abandon a base, just forgot to touch one.

OTOH, if the runner had touched the plate on the way to 1B..........

I can't wait to see you rule against Chaos in the States this year. I can see it now... Well Keith, he touched home on the way to first so the supposed triple is acutally a home run and you lose. Now go sit with Carlos in the dead ball box in left field. :D

Tru_in_Blu Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:08pm

Thanx for everyone's replies. I think I had it mostly right in the game.

Had the defense appealed the runner missing home, I was prepared to rule her out and anticipated a mess to follow. That's why I was hoping to get by the next pitch.

I made a mistake after the game during discussing with the offensive coach from the situation. He was getting the message that something else needed to be done when I told him a couple of times that the runner was awarded home. So he asked "what the catch was" and I told him that his runner should then have touched HP. In retrospect, because his runner had entered the dugout, that information was not correct. If she had stayed on the field, or gone over to talk to her coach, I think it would have been OK. So I did learn/clarify that piece of the situation.

A couple of more options to the original post, if you could indulge me.

1) When F2 throws to 3B, R1 goes to the dugout; throw goes into LF and BR then scores. Defense does appeal R1 missing home. That run is negated. Would the BR's run still count? [I think it would, since it's a timing situation.]
2) When R1 slides into F2, she bangs her knee and cannot stand up. This isn't a line drive to the pitcher's head situation, so no time out called, play continues. Again, throw goes into LF and BR attempts to score. She runs past R1, prone along the 3B line and touches HP. I think the proper call is to immediately rule BR out for passing a previous BR. Now we have the 3rd out of the inning. But since we had obstruction, and R1 is awarded HP, if she can get up or crawl over to HP and touch it, would her run count?

Thanx again.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 649314)

1) When F2 throws to 3B, R1 goes to the dugout; throw goes into LF and BR then scores. Defense does appeal R1 missing home. That run is negated. Would the BR's run still count? [I think it would, since it's a timing situation.]

Speaking ASA

If the appeal at home was the 3rd out of the inning, or a 4th out, the run would not count. (5.5.B.3 & C)

Quote:

2) When R1 slides into F2, she bangs her knee and cannot stand up. This isn't a line drive to the pitcher's head situation, so no time out called, play continues.
Huh? What does the pitcher or a line drive have to do with a runner sliding into home?

Quote:

Again, throw goes into LF and BR attempts to score. She runs past R1, prone along the 3B line and touches HP. I think the proper call is to immediately rule BR out for passing a previous BR. Now we have the 3rd out of the inning. But since we had obstruction, and R1 is awarded HP, if she can get up or crawl over to HP and touch it, would her run count?
That's a damn good question and to be honest, I can sell it both ways. By the letter of the rule, the answer would be no. Common sense and using the intent of the obstruction rule, it could be yes.

AtlUmpSteve Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 649314)
1) When F2 throws to 3B, R1 goes to the dugout; throw goes into LF and BR then scores. Defense does appeal R1 missing home. That run is negated. Would the BR's run still count? [I think it would, since it's a timing situation.]
2) When R1 slides into F2, she bangs her knee and cannot stand up. This isn't a line drive to the pitcher's head situation, so no time out called, play continues. Again, throw goes into LF and BR attempts to score. She runs past R1, prone along the 3B line and touches HP. I think the proper call is to immediately rule BR out for passing a previous BR. Now we have the 3rd out of the inning. But since we had obstruction, and R1 is awarded HP, if she can get up or crawl over to HP and touch it, would her run count?

Thanx again.

Timing doesn't matter; no runner following the runner that makes the third out can score.

Like Mike, I agree it can be a hairy call on Q2. I would agree that the preceding runner being awarded home should be allowed to score; and her ability to crawl there isn't pertinent, as a sub can complete the running of an injured player.

I would love to rely on the wording of "and all other runners affected" to not call the out on BR, but the clear exception of passing makes that difficult (although it does specify that exception to the obstructed runner, not necessarily to others affected by the obstruction, so I might have an argument:eek::D).

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jan 08, 2010 07:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 649338)
I would love to rely on the wording of "and all other runners affected" to not call the out on BR, but the clear exception of passing makes that difficult (although it does specify that exception to the obstructed runner, not necessarily to others affected by the obstruction, so I might have an argument:eek::D).

See, this is where things get touchy with coaches. The rule squarely place the onus of properly calling all situations correctly. In a perfect world, the trailing runners should stop and not pass another active runner and TRUST the umpire to rule accordingly.

As we see on this and other boards, not to mention the field, some umpires take it upon themselves (or the direction of others who think they are the Ford Co. and have "a better idea") to interject their perception of "fairness" into the game.

Hell, you guys in CA don't call ****! :eek: According to the parents and coaches, illegal pitches, obstruction and interference are NEVER called in CA! ;)

Therefore, you cannot be trusted and the coaches have to take matters into their own hands and then challenge you to "ignore" the correct call.:rolleyes:

The rules are there to level the playing field. Many forget there are two teams out there and what may seem fair for one may actually negate the good and proper play by the other.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Jan 08, 2010 08:52am

Huh? What does the pitcher or a line drive have to do with a runner sliding into home?

It has nothing to do with this play. I tried to illustrate a game situation where I would likely immediately call time out. In this case R1 did not require immediate medical attention. She could survive with an "owie" for another few seconds.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Jan 08, 2010 09:15am

We've previously discussed the situation with runners on base and the BR hits an over the fence HR and passes the runner on 1B. (Let's not muddy this w/ the SP version and no one has to run any bases.)

In a situation with 2 outs if this happens, the BR is immediately declared out, but all preceeding runners are allowed to score, even after the third out has been made.

Now the HR is a dead ball so the preceeding runners are allowed to score.

In my situation when R1 is hurt after the obstruction, we have a delayed dead ball. R1 wasn't the runner who passed another runner as mentioned, but the BR, I think, should be called out for passing another runner.

If the preceeding runners can score on a "grand slam single", I'm inclined to allow R1 to score since she was obstructed, we had a delayed dead ball, and she's entitled to HP.

I'm sure a lot of you veteran umps could sell it either way. By rule, what's the proper call?

Stevetheump Sun Jan 17, 2010 05:13pm

So my questions:
1) Did R1, by leaving the field of play after the obstruction call, forfeit her right to come back onto the field and physically touch HP? Could she have come out of the dugout, walked over to HP and stepped on it legally?
2) Had the defense appealed prior to the next pitch, would R1 be out on appeal?
3) If the throw from F2 had sailed into left field and B2 scored, would 2 runs score? I.E. If defense appealed R1 missed HP, as the third out, subsequent run(s) would not count? Or, after the play, R1 could not go back to touch HP after a subsequent runner had scored?

Under ASA rules:
1. I would say yes, she forfeited her right to touch HP once she entered the dugout.
2. Yes, she would be out. It is still the RUNNER'S responsiblity to touch any and all bases (including HP).
3. Yes, if the defense does NOT appeal, both runs count.
If the defense did make a proper appeal, NO runs would score.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1