The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Ball Hits Baserunner on base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/5622-ball-hits-baserunner-base.html)

drvestal Wed Aug 14, 2002 01:24pm

I umpire baseball and not softball, so maybe the ruling is different, but I don't think so. This happened in my adult league softball game last night.

R2, R3, 1 out- Batter hits ground ball down 3rd base line in fair territory. The ball hits R3, who is standing on the bag in fair territory and and the ball bounces toward 2nd base. No play could then be made by our 3rd baseman. Umpire rules fair ball. B1 is safe at first, bases now loaded, still 1 out.

I believe he got the call wrong. R3 should be out. Just because you are standing on a base you are not protected from a ball and you must get out of the way of a hit ball so a play can be made by the fielder.

Can someone please confirm for me?

Thanks.

SamNVa Wed Aug 14, 2002 02:10pm

If your adult league is governed by ASA rules, then the umpire was correct. This is covered in a POE in the ASA rulebook. A runner is never called out when struck by a fair batted while in contact with a base unless the act was intentional. The ball reemains alive or is dead depending on the position of the nearest defender.

SamC

bluezebra Wed Aug 14, 2002 02:24pm

Also, a runner isn't required to put her/himself in jeopardy by abandoning the base.

Bob

Roger Greene Wed Aug 14, 2002 03:11pm

Drvestal,

The difference from baseball makes sense if you consider it for a moment.

In baseball the runner is not restricted as to when he can leave the base, and the diamond for adults is much larger.

In softball, the runner is restricted to remaining in contact with the base untill (faspitch)the ball leavees the pitcher's hand or (slowpitch) the ball reaches the plate. Add he small diamond and an R3 might not have time to avoid the batted ball with these new bats. That is why it is called the "hot corner"!

Roger Greene

Skahtboi Wed Aug 14, 2002 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamNVa
If your adult league is governed by ASA rules, then the umpire was correct. This is covered in a POE in the ASA rulebook. A runner is never called out when struck by a fair batted while in contact with a base unless the act was intentional. The ball reemains alive or is dead depending on the position of the nearest defender.

SamC

For the record, the same is true in USSSA.

Scott

IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 15, 2002 06:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by drvestal
I umpire baseball and not softball, so maybe the ruling is different, but I don't think so. This happened in my adult league softball game last night.

R2, R3, 1 out- Batter hits ground ball down 3rd base line in fair territory. The ball hits R3, who is standing on the bag in fair territory and and the ball bounces toward 2nd base. No play could then be made by our 3rd baseman. Umpire rules fair ball. B1 is safe at first, bases now loaded, still 1 out.

I believe he got the call wrong. R3 should be out. Just because you are standing on a base you are not protected from a ball and you must get out of the way of a hit ball so a play can be made by the fielder.

Can someone please confirm for me?

Thanks.

Just one more difference between two games that are not the same.


drvestal Thu Aug 15, 2002 08:07am

Thanks everyone for your reply. Our games are played under ASA rules. I didn't argue the call with the ump since I wasn't sure if there was a rule difference. Thanks for clearing it up for me.

Tap Thu Aug 15, 2002 09:15am

USSSA rules
 
Scott is correct that the baserunner is never called out in USSSA if unintentionally hit while on base.

However, unlike ASA, in USSSA the ball is live regardless of where the fielder is.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1