![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The coach's box is 8 feet from the base. The only possible reason (other than just being stupid) for the coach to move out of the coach's box and touch the runner would be to assist him/her. The runner is out and the ball remains live. 2001 ASA Case Book, Play 8.8-19 R1 is on 3B when B5 hits a fly ball to deep CF. The CF is waiting for the ball when the 3B coach taps the leg of R! in an effort to tell him to advance. The ball is caught by the CF (a) after the tap by the coach, or (b) before th tap by the coach. RULING: In both (a) and (b) B5 is out of the caught fly ball, R1 is out on runner assistance (8.8.E)
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
Bookmarks |
|
|