![]() |
U Trip Slow Pitch help
Hello all,
I only do a smattering of USSSA games (predominantly ASA), so always wary of differences. The play: I'm PU. R1 on 1B. No outs. Batter hits line drive down LF line, F7 catches the ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him out of play. I call Dead Ball. R1 had played it "halfway". Partner sends runner to 2B. My rusty ol' cranium is telling me that in UTrip we're not advancing him. I know that on a throw that goes out of play that its two from the release, and that runners off base get their orig base plus one, so logically in my play the base they get is to return to 1B. Am I correct in my thinking? |
Quote:
|
From page 46 of the current USSSA Slo-Pitch Rule book:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Unless of course, USSSA SLOWPITCH is that different. |
Quote:
Therefore, catching the ball and going out of play becomes irrelevant. |
Right, he gets one base...
Quote:
I know that: R1 at 1B, batter hits line drive to F1 who snags it, throws quickly to F3 to double runner off 1B. F1 throws ball over F3 and out of play. R1 had not retouched 1B when the throw was released. Runner is awarded 2 bases, but one of them is the retouch of 1B and they end up at 2B. So in OP, runner just back to base that they needed to touch? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
In OP batter had strikes remaining. Not a factor.
Quote:
|
Just that much more thankful for fastpitch!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In the posting above (highlighted in blue), the award should be 3B. A retouch of the base is not considered one of the awarded bases. It's where the runner was at the time of the hit. I've had this highlighted situation so many times I practically have it memorized and I've had so many players b***h a storm over it in league play. Again, the runner would still need to tag up, or be called out on appeal. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
My understanding was that USSSA is the "exception to the rule" from the rest of the softball world when it comes to awarding bases on this play (ball thrown out-of-play before runner has re-touched following a caught batted ball). What is the intent behind the final sentence of the "EFFECT" following their rule 8-7-F? 8-7: Baserunners are entitled to advance without liability to be put out...(F) When a ball is live after a batted ball and is overthrown into foul territory and is blocked. EFFECT Sec. 7. F. In all cases, when a blocked ball occurs on an overthrown live ball, the ball is immediately dead. Each and every Base Runner is awarded two bases from last base occupied, unless required to retouch. (For the guys here that "speak ASA", the USSSA definition of a "blocked ball" is the same as the ASA definition of an "overthrow". Their definition of a throw that goes into dead ball area is that it's a "blocked ball".) And then there is this: 8-9: Baserunners may, and shall, return to bases at various times...(D) A Base Runner returning to a base to retag a base on a fly ball caught and thrown by a Fielder to any base. If the ball is thrown by a Fielder into the restricted area, the Base Runner shall be awarded the base he must retouch, plus one base. Since the Base Runner is required to regain the base he first occupied, he is awarded that base and only one more. Sounds to me like the runner in question is only getting second base, not third! |
Quote:
Sorry for any confusion! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I stand corrected, after reading the rule. However, the sitch you described related to this came up in a rules meeting, and the interpretation we got was that 3B would be the correct award. I may needle the instructor next time on this one as well. |
Quote:
|
just in case anyone cares, in baseball this is know as a catch and carry.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34am. |