![]() |
It bothered me.
R1 on 2B. Batter hits a ball to left-center. F7 overthrows the catcher, the ball then hits the fence and bounces right into the player who just scored.
I didn't think it was interference. I had nothing. Partner who is BU and on the grass behind F6 comes up with "Dead Ball Interference on Retired Runner" Then calls the player on 2B out. I don't think he should have made that call. He said it was a textbook call and I should have made it. It bothered me . What say you ? |
That call should bother you - it's protecting the defense on a bad throw. If the runner did nothing to actively interfere with the bad throw, I've got nothing.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The way I see it, he had no business fishing in your pond.
|
Quote:
Sounds like a textbook example of your partner getting up in your business. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Thats pretty much horrible. It shouldve bothered you big time.
|
yeah it would bother me too if I was working with this moron. how did you handle that ? Im sure the coaches were going nuts
|
Heck. This call is bothering me, and I wasn't even there! :D
|
Quote:
1) It was a bogus call 2) Even if it wasn't a bogus call - it was YOUR call to make or not. Assuming (hahaha) it was an honest mistake by your partner, I would mention it to your assignor - he can straighten the BU out on 1) Knowing his responsibilities 2) Knowing how to apply rules. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
As the PU you are the UIC for the game. I would have told my partner to shut his "pie hole" and get his tuchus back out to the "C" position. I would have told the coaches that there was no interference. At this point I would put the runner on 3B if I thought my partner's screw up kept him from advancing to 3B. MTD, Sr. |
Even though the call was wrong, I lean more toward call it if you see it, especially things like INT, OBS, dead ball;
because my partner can't watch everything. |
yep time to use 10.3.C and correct it. As the plate umpire you have the right. Let him deal with the UIC later.
|
Quote:
Like it or not, this is a judgment call and is covered in the rule book. Talk to your partner? Absolutely. Try to get your partner to reverse the call? No, try to force feed him additional information and suggest he overreacted and point out why you believe that. Change the call yourself? Absolutely, not. Why? Because the rule book specifically states that you cannot. Again, one of the downfalls of leaving 100% of the judgment up to the umpire, the rules become applied inconsistently. |
Gotta agree with Irish, you cant just turn this.
By rule he CAN make this call. We know as umpires he SHOULDNT make this call, but definately within his authority to do so. You sink on this call on the field and certainly should be setting him straight (I would do so at the half inning and post game).. but you cant just overrule INT. |
Quote:
|
Dam... My partner last week must hate me :)
Irish.. Thanks for the kick in the ***. Of course you are right. |
Quote:
My partner's a chosen one. He worked college ball last year and I didn't. Though I have gotten that call and it looks like I start college ball this year.:cool: So he does have a little ...ahem...attitude about himself and how high he sits up in the pecking order of local softball umpiring. ;) He definetly is above explaining himself to a mere HS/ASA umpire such as myself. :rolleyes: Yea I wasn't happy with the call or he's reaction to my bringing it up ,but truthfully he didn't care that I wasn't happy about it all. thanks for the replies . Your responses are about what I expected- just need some confirmation of what happened. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43am. |