The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Awarding Bases (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53796-awarding-bases.html)

rottiron01 Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:17pm

Awarding Bases
 
I need a little help.

The batter hits the ball to the outfield.
The outfielder catches the ball and throws to first trying to double up R1 before he tags up. The throw ends up going out of play before the runner makes it back to first. Can you please tell me where the runner should end up?

NCASAUmp Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rottiron01 (Post 611403)
I need a little help.

The batter hits the ball to the outfield.
The outfielder catches the ball and throws to first trying to double up R1 before he tags up. The throw ends up going out of play before the runner makes it back to first. Can you please tell me where the runner should end up?

Speaking ASA, two bases from the time at which the ball left the fielder's hand (8-5-G). Does not matter if it's a primary throw, secondary throw, etc., as ASA does not have that in their rules.

In ASA, it does not matter which way they're going. It's where they are.

rottiron01 Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:24pm

This is what I thought. Since R1 had already achieved 1B then they would be placed at third.

CecilOne Tue Jun 30, 2009 06:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rottiron01 (Post 611406)
This is what I thought. Since R1 had already achieved 1B then they would be placed at third.

No, it's because R! is on 1st or between 1st and 2nd. The difference is if R1 passed 2nd then returned, could be past 2nd at the TOT.

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 30, 2009 07:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 611439)
No, it's because R! is on 1st or between 1st and 2nd. The difference is if R1 passed 2nd then returned, could be past 2nd at the TOT.

I don't believe the OP mentions this.

jmkupka Tue Jun 30, 2009 08:12am

NCASAUmp... since you mentioned it (and it came up this weekend), the pitch is considered the primary throw, which if thrown out of play, is a one base award.
Is this correct?

ASA/NYSSOBLUE Tue Jun 30, 2009 08:33am

I had a potentially interesting one last night.

Field with unmarked DB line. F3, off the bag, had secured then bobbled throw, THEN kind of scooped the ball toward where the DB line would have been, after the BR had reached. I was working the plate and determined that it was still in play. My immediate thought was, that if it HAD gone dead, that the BR (actually R1 now)would have got 3B, as the ball would have gone dead on the actions of F3, not because of the throw. My partner disagreed.....I feel I am correct...would I have been right?

wadeintothem Tue Jun 30, 2009 08:54am

Its 2 bases from the base last touched at the time the ball left the fielders hand.

What was the specifics of his disagreement?
If he had a rule wrong, then post game, grab a rule book and talk it over.

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 30, 2009 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 611458)
NCASAUmp... since you mentioned it (and it came up this weekend), the pitch is considered the primary throw, which if thrown out of play, is a one base award.
Is this correct?

There is no such terminology in ASA. USSSA has such terminology, and maybe other orgs as well. But not ASA.

If my amnesia serves me correctly, in USSSA, there's a difference between primary throw and a secondary throw. I THINK the primary throw is the first play made on a runner by an infielder, and a secondary throw is everything else.

However, it's been 13 years since I called USSSA, so someone will probably correct me on this. :)

Dakota Tue Jun 30, 2009 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE (Post 611467)
I had a potentially interesting one last night.

Field with unmarked DB line. F3, off the bag, had secured then bobbled throw, THEN kind of scooped the ball toward where the DB line would have been, after the BR had reached. I was working the plate and determined that it was still in play. My immediate thought was, that if it HAD gone dead, that the BR (actually R1 now)would have got 3B, as the ball would have gone dead on the actions of F3, not because of the throw. My partner disagreed.....I feel I am correct...would I have been right?

In this situation, the fielder secured the ball and then lost possession (unintentionally) into dead ball territory. The award is one base from the time the ball enetered DBT. 8-5-G EXCEPTION 1.

Skahtboi Tue Jun 30, 2009 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 611458)
NCASAUmp... since you mentioned it (and it came up this weekend), the pitch is considered the primary throw, which if thrown out of play, is a one base award.
Is this correct?


The pitch is just that, a pitch. For the purposed of the rules it is not a throw, primary or otherwise.

CecilOne Tue Jun 30, 2009 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 611452)
I don't believe the OP mentions this.

Correct, just correcting "achieved 1B", in another post.

greymule Tue Jun 30, 2009 09:42am

I had never heard of "primary" and "secondary" throws in any code. Apparently some codes do recognize them, but ASA always awards two bases TOT, even for runners who must retouch bases left before a catch.

OBR, however, distinguishes between "first play by an infielder," which is two bases TOP, and all other throws, which are two bases TOT.

A common myth in both baseball and softball is that awards are determined by whether the errant throw came from the infield or the outfield.

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 30, 2009 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule (Post 611490)
I had never heard of "primary" and "secondary" throws in any code. Apparently some codes do recognize them, but ASA always awards two bases TOT, even for runners who must retouch bases left before a catch.

OBR, however, distinguishes between "first play by an infielder," which is two bases TOP, and all other throws, which are two bases TOT.

A common myth in both baseball and softball is that awards are determined by whether the errant throw came from the infield or the outfield.

Again, forgive my hazy memory from my brief U-trip days. The term "primary" and "secondary" when relating to throws was simply a term that people used in trainings. They're not part of the official vernacular, but I believe most U-Trip umpires (at least 13 years ago) knew what it meant.

Then again, all of us know what a double-fist pump means. Doesn't mean it's right. :)

ASA/NYSSOBLUE Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 611477)
In this situation, the fielder secured the ball and then lost possession (unintentionally) into dead ball territory. The award is one base from the time the ball enetered DBT. 8-5-G EXCEPTION 1.

Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1