The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ???? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53713-a.html)

gumpire Sun Jun 21, 2009 06:04pm

????
 
ASA Men's Slow Pitch:
R1 on 2B, no out....B hits base hit to right-center (ball bounced in-front of fielder) and fielder throws to 3B to get R1 who is advancing.

Throw is offline and F5 misses it, R1 round 3B and scores...BR rounds 1B and heads for 2B.

Thrown ball hits fence between 3B and HP, F5 attempts to field it on rebound, and knocks it over the fence with his glove (unintentionally, IMO).

What, if any, is awarded to BR and please give rule references if avail.

Thanks.

BTW: I awarded BR 3B.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 21, 2009 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 610051)
ASA Men's Slow Pitch:
R1 on 2B, no out....B hits base hit to right-center (ball bounced in-front of fielder) and fielder throws to 3B to get R1 who is advancing.

Throw is offline and F5 misses it, R1 round 3B and scores...BR rounds 1B and heads for 2B.

Thrown ball hits fence between 3B and HP, F5 attempts to field it on rebound, and knocks it over the fence with his glove (unintentionally, IMO).

What, if any, is awarded to BR and please give rule references if avail.

Thanks.

BTW: I awarded BR 3B.

If F5 ever gained possession of the ball, the BR is awarded one base from the last touched at the time the ball entered DBT. (8.5.G.Exception.1&Effect)

If no possession, it is two bases from the time of the throw. (8.5.G&Effect)

gumpire Mon Jun 22, 2009 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 610052)
If F5 ever gained possession of the ball, the BR is awarded one base from the last touched at the time the ball entered DBT. (8.5.G.Exception.1&Effect)

If no possession, it is two bases from the time of the throw. (8.5.G&Effect)

So the ball remains a "thrown ball" until a fielder has possession or it goes OOP?

Just double-checking.

Thanks.

Ref Ump Welsch Mon Jun 22, 2009 05:23pm

Sounds like you made the proper award, because F5 didn't have possession, if I read your OP right. But I'm having trouble picturing this OP, unless it was a very, very short fence in height.

gumpire Mon Jun 22, 2009 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 610241)
Sounds like you made the proper award, because F5 didn't have possession, if I read your OP right. But I'm having trouble picturing this OP, unless it was a very, very short fence in height.

It is only about a 5' fence extending out from dugout.

Not so sure I got it right...BR hadn't reached 1st by the time the throw was made....

I was referring to BR between 1B and 2B when I saw F5 knock the ball over the fence....he NEVER had any kind of possession of the ball.

Ref Ump Welsch Mon Jun 22, 2009 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by gumpire (Post 610243)
It is only about a 5' fence extending out from dugout.

Not so sure I got it right...BR hadn't reached 1st by the time the throw was made....

I was referring to BR between 1B and 2B when I saw F5 knock the ball over the fence....he NEVER had any kind of possession of the ball.

That's a short fence alright...reminds me of one of our old complexes here in Omaha.

From your latest description, you should have awarded 2nd. You'll catch grief over it, but your answer can be "Read Rule 8, boys" and walk away.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1