![]() |
2010 FP Camp
Hey Ron, or anyone, has there been any mention of where the fp camp will be next year? I have heard it will be in California.
Thanks |
They did not mention where for next year.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
My question on the situation posted above is: What was your PU doing? Assuming that you started in A position with no runners and were staying on the rim on the fly ball to left, your PU should pick up third for you. This is how I always pregame the rim mechanic. (except in any games I work for Darrell!) I am a supporter of the rim mechanic for 2 and 3 umpire mechanics, but I see it as an advanced mechanic that should only be employed by experienced umpires. |
Quote:
Still waiting on an answer :rolleyes: |
Quote:
Though I do agree with the concept in general. BU should be allowed to rotate home IF (and ONLY if) there are no other responsibilities at 1B or 2B (ie., batter hits a triple and could head home). |
Quote:
If a player hits a triple, it isn't the PUs call anyway. |
Quote:
The NCAA does not have a strict adherence to the "inside-outside" theory. "Working the rim" is one specific case (base hit to LF with no runners on). Working "outside" has two underlying aspects: 1) there are two calling positions for every play (one inside and one outside); 2) the umpire can read the play and work inside or outside, which ever is beneficial to the play. As for the first aspect, on runners on, and the BR tries to stretch a single (to LF) to a double. I can stay outside, work parallel with the runner, and be in a calling position at second that is outside. I've made a few out calls like this (2 umpire system), which I 1) never lost my priorities (obs at first, BR touching first, obs at second), 2) did not cross the path of the runner or 3) turned my back on the ball. As for the second aspect, well, this is the key. Some umpires stay outside just for the sake of staying outside (i.e. laziness). If the BR hits a triple, or what looks to be a triple, then you can't stay outside. Staying outside does have it's place, but as Andy stated, it is an advanced technique, and should not be taught at the basic or LCD levels. |
I'd say i think it can be read when there is potential of a run down, and that mean that I dont believe the BU has reached the "unemployed spectator" status.
That status happens when the play at 3B is obvious and PU is then forced to trail the runner home on the broken play at 3B. Lets say BU did go home early or read it incorrectly, PU would probably have to pick up the slack by taking 2B temporarily while BU readjusted. Certianly, whatever reasoning would make someone think PU couldnt cover 2B on that, should preclude you from believe you could cover home and 3B on that. Both bases are 50-55 feet from you. |
I agree with Big Slick. All systems are not fool proof for all situations. In order to work at any level, you need to be able to read and react. There are times that working the outside edge will work ,and other times it will bite you in a bad way.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Rachel, you're sick. :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now I know why the gallery emits oohs and aahs when a the golf ball rims the cup or the basketball rims the hoop. I always thought it was because it was such a close and exciting shot! And what is that thing called a rimshot? That must really be disgusting!:rolleyes: And what about that Ride the Rails to the Rim Tour of the Grand Canyon? :eek: Probably don't want to go there. Wish people would keep their "moral idealogy" in their own circles. Don't they realize that if they consider something inappropriate, vulgar or disgusting, it is their mind looking for the worst in something that causes it to be so? It's like shooting yourself in the foot and then wondering why you are having a difficult time walking! Okay, done with that, at least here. AFA the BU rotating home. I'm still trying to figure out how the BU can be unemployed anytime with a single runner. This "old" mechanic cannot be done without leaving 2B uncovered. Until the runner actually gets to 3B, there is always the possibility s/he can reverse course. I actually had this happen last night. R1 tagged up at 1B on a long caught fly that was at about 320-325' deep. He had good speed and was more than 3/4 to 3B when he realized he was dead and reversed direction. I was in a holding zone watching my partner bring him to 3B. If I had moved into the field to take the call and my partner broke off to cover home, neither of us would have been in position to make that out call on the throw back to 2B. Luckily, my partner (new umpire) correctly stayed with the runner and made the call. |
F.Y.I. This is a general comment and not directed toward Rachel or specifically to anyone else on this board.
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm. |