The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Grand Slam taken away (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53584-grand-slam-taken-away.html)

iowasoftballump Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:35am

Grand Slam taken away
 
Ok last night I'm doing a varsity high school game. Bases loaded, 2 outs and the girl up to bat hits a shot to left field. When it left that bat there was no doubt if it was leaving the park but more like how far out of the park is this thing going.

R1, R2 touch home with no problem and turn around to congratulate the girl that has hit the HR, R3 misses home by a foot. Assistant coach sees this and starts telling the girl that she needs to go back and touch home. Just as R3 is getting ready to touch home, R4 (home run hitter) put her foot in the middle of home plate.

R3 is out for out #3 and only two runs score.

Dakota Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:43am

I'm assuming the defense did appeal... Anyway, 3B coach shoulda told R4 to hold up.

iowasoftballump Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:52am

No they did not. I killed it when I have R4 touching the plate as R3 trying to touch it because she missed it. In my estimation R4 passed R3 by legally touching home before R3 did.

Maybe I dropped the ball on this. Partner agreed with it and neither on of the coaches said a word about it.

If I'm wrong I would like someone to reference the rule where I'm wrong int he way I handled this.

wadeintothem Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by iowasoftballump (Post 608034)
No they did not. I killed it when I have R4 touching the plate as R3 trying to touch it because she missed it. In my estimation R4 passed R3 by legally touching home before R3 did.

Maybe I dropped the ball on this. Partner agreed with it and neither on of the coaches said a word about it.

If I'm wrong I would like someone to reference the rule where I'm wrong int he way I handled this.

You dropped the ball big time.

R3 legally scored unless properly appealed by the defense.

Wow.

wadeintothem Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:04pm

no I dont have NFHS rule books, I'm at work.. but someone will set you striaght.

Maybe I'm wrong NFHS but I think you blew that in a huge way.

outathm Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:15pm

You were right in Fed for one year about ten years ago. They had the appeal process taken out and it was an automatic call by the umpire who saw the missed base. It went about as well as you can all imagine. Getting away with this call without a LOT of grief from coaches is enough to get Cudos from me though.

CecilOne Wed Jun 10, 2009 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by outathm (Post 608041)
You were right in Fed for one year about ten years ago. They had the appeal process taken out and it was an automatic call by the umpire who saw the missed base. It went about as well as you can all imagine. Getting away with this call without a LOT of grief from coaches is enough to get Cudos from me though.

Like most, I tend to read posts sequentially, so your first sentence was very confusing as to who you were referring to, even though I already knew who was correct and who was wrong. Clear after reading the whole post, but started :confused:.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1