![]() |
[ASA Co-Ed] Dead Ball Territory Question
From our SP game tonight.
We're batting, BR gets a hit and is advancing on a thow that goes stray and is tracked down by F1. Part of F1's foot enters our dugout. Although I don't think it would have made a difference on the play, what is the rule for a ball entering dead ball territory? How much of a fielder's person has to be in DBT for a dead ball to be called with any appropriate awards? ### In other news, I witnessed a rare double put out at the plate. We had two runners right behind each other running to the plate. F1 cuts off a rare perfect relay and then tags both runners out. :eek: Pretty impressive play, though. :cool: |
Quote:
To your question. As long as part of the foot is on the line, painted, chalked or imagenary, the player is still considered in the field of play. For the fielder to be considered to have entered DBT, the entire part of the body (foot, hand, arm, head, whatever) that is touching the ground must be completely outside of the aforementioned line. Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks for the rule clarification. To address your comment, our city league has a local rule that states any fielder may cover home plate. |
Quote:
There are a lot of umpires who just outright refuse to work co-rec ball for two reasons: 1. Changing the ball. International play uses the 12" ball ONLY. To the best of my knowledge, most places simply use a 12" ball ONLY for this game. 2. The men not allowing the women to play their positions. Too many dicks "showing off" for their girlfriends/wives. |
Quote:
Then again, there are a lot of MEN around here who can't play, either, but they seem to think they can! :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Let's all wreck together!" |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Interesting. I wonder how many arguments there are over whether or not the 5' bubble was encroached upon ... :cool: |
Quote:
I'm picturing all the strange and bizarro conversations I'll have on that one. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am. |